Skip to main content

Library COVID-19 Dashboard

Library COVID-19 Dashboard
Learn more about updates to library services

We are here to help

Contact Us

Researching Literature in Translation for Less Commonly Taught and Minority Languages : Finding Articles

This page helps the student conduct research in less commonly taught and minority languages' literature in translation, where there is usually little written in English on the literature itself.

Subject Guide

Todd Michelson-Ambelang's picture
Todd Michelson-Ambelang
Librarian for Scandinavian Humanities and South Asia; Liaison to the Center for the Humanities and Institute for Research in the Humanities; GLS ADA Accessibility Liaison for Public Services
Contact:
Memorial Library, 416
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-3475

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Suggestions

Now it is time to put your thoughts into doing searches.  Below you will find links to search various databases using the search terms you used on the previous page:

Articles Search

Search for magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles

Text and Article Authors

Two databases which will help the researcher find more about

  • The Academics who write about Texts and Authors
  • The Authors of Texts
  • The Texts themselves

are the MLA International Bibliography and the Literature Resource Center.  These help the student find many articles, chapters and books an academic has written, and also many articles, chapters, and books about a particular text or a particular author.

  • MLA International Bibliography 
    Over 2.1 million citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts.  Do make sure to follow directions, such as putting the last name first, comma, first name.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Information on a large number of authors and literary works taken from Contemporary AuthorsDictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources. Also includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections.

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow    (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

  • access online full text (when available)
  • see if the journal or book is available in print (Library Catalog)
  • request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

Library Research Tutorials