Finding Federal Funding : Federal Grants for Individuals

Billed as the place to find and apply to government grants, this resource can be difficult to use in identifying what is available. Instead, visit individual agency web sites and/or use the resources below to find grants – then use grants.gov to apply. This site also includes grant opportunities notices posted in the most recent seven days, links to grant application packages, resources such as proposal writing information.

"The information found in RePORTER is drawn from several extant databases–eRA databases, Medline, PubMed Central, the NIH Intramural Database, and iEdison–using newly-formed linkages among these disparate data sources. The comprehensiveness of these databases varies, as does the quality of the linkages formed among them... In general, the RePORTER database of research projects is updated weekly. This tool replaced CRISP in September 2009.

This site by the Society of Research Administrators has information on Government Funding and Resources especially for academic faculty, staff, researchers, and others in academe. Includes funding from local, state, federal, and international government sources. This is not a list, but results from a search.

Much to explore here. Includes sections for students, parents, teachers, and administrators. See also links to U.S. Department of Education G5 grant administration program, and Federal Student Aid for parents, students and counselors.

Search over 28,000 active funding opportunities and over 3 billion past awarded grants from
private and federal funding sources. Covers a wide array of subjects and disciplines. (Note: You must set up a personal login account using your wisc.edu email - free to UW-Madison affiliates - to save searches and track opportunities. However, a login is not necessary to use the database.)
Need help?

• Handout on using Pivot
• 20 minute video on using Pivot
• Vendor support pages, including updated Funding Types

This is where a citizen can search for federal and state benefits and assistance programs. Programs can be searched alphabetically, or by category or eligibility listings. Not the best resource for state benefits (Wisconsin residents may also explore Financial Assistance for Wisconsin Citizens for additional links and information).

Search news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.

Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view.

Learn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.

Browse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.