Sociology : Subdisciplinary Resources

"Collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development."

"Offers agricultural information from 1970 to the present. It contains over 4 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. These records cover all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and earth and environmental sciences, with an emphasis on research conducted in North America."

Edited by Paul Cloke, Terry Marsden and Patrick Mooney
HT409 H36 2006 (Steenbock Library)

Edited by Michael R. Redclift and Graham Woodgate
GE195 I57 2010 (Steenbock Library)

550 Babcock Dr.
Phone: (608) 262-1371
Email: asksteenbock@library.wisc.edu

"Provides thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country and industry profiles. The database covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate."

"Provides access to over 3000 business and management publications, of which more than 2000 are full text."

Indexes and abstracts from more than 300 scholarly English language journals, dissertations, working papers, and books in the field of economics.

Neil J. Smelser and Richard Swedberg, editors.
HM548 H25 2005 (College Library & Memorial Library)

Edited by Anita L. Vangelisti and Daniel Perlman
HM1106 C356 2018 (Memorial Library)

"Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare."

Edited by Marie Weil
HV41 H323 2013 (Memorial Library)

Editors Marilyn Coleman, Lawrence H. Ganong
HQ536 H3185 2004 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Anita L. Vangelisti
HQ519 H36 2004 (Memorial Library)

Rino J. Patti, editor
HV41 H324 2009 (Social Work Library)

Editors, Mark L. Knapp, John A. Daly
BF637 C45 H287 2002 (Social Work Library)

Edited by Ronan Paddison
HT151 H318 2001 (Memorial Library Reference)

Dhamotharan, Mohan
HN49 C6 D48 2009 (Verona Shelving)

Chandrika Kaul
HQ767.9 K38 2002 (Memorial Library Reference)

"Includes citations with summaries to journal articles covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."

"Indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history."

Stanley I. Kutler, editor in chief
E174 D52 2003 (Memorial Library Reference)
10 volume set

Edited by Gerard Delanty and Engin F. Isin.
HM487 H343 2003 (Memorial Library)

"Indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada."

"This guide is an introduction to selected resources available for historical research. It covers both primary sources (such as diaries, letters, newspaper articles, photographs, government documents and first-hand accounts) and secondary materials (such as books and articles written by historians and devoted to the analysis and interpretation of historical events and evidence)."

Edited by Jerry H. Bentley
D20 O94 2011 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Thomas Janoski
JA76 H383 2005 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Bert Klandermans and Conny Roggeband
HM866 H367 2010 (Memorial Library)

"Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues."

Edited by Glenn Morgan
HB99.5 O94 2010 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Russell J. Dalton and Hans-Dieter Klingemann
JA74.5 O93 2009 (Memorial Library)

"Indexes more than 900 journals; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world. Its subject matter covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general."

"Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of more than 1200 international serials in political science and related fields; including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy."

Edited by John Delamater
Call Number: ONLINE

Edited by Jaan Valsiner
GN270 O94 2012 (Memorial Library)

"Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology."

"Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology."

Edited by Carol Sansone, Carolyn C. Morf, and A.T. Panter
HM1019 S24 2004 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Michael A. Hogg and Joel Cooper
HM251 S24 2003 (Memorial Library Reference)

John D. Delamater and Daniel J. Myers
HM1033 M53 2011 (College Library)

Edited by Ian Shaw
HV11 S26 2010 (Social Work Library)

Social Work Abstracts contains citations and abstracts to articles from more than 450 journals in the areas of the social work profession, theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. (Updated semi-annually)

Edited by Kevin Corcoran
HV40 S6464 2015 (Social Work Library Reference)

236 School of Social Work
1350 University Ave.
Madison WI 53706
608-263-3283
socworklib@library.wisc.edu

HV88 .N126 2018 (Social Work Library Reference)

Susan Krauss Whitbourne
WT 104 W579ad 2008 (Ebling Library)

Bagchi, Anil
HQ1061 B28 2006 (Memorial Library)

Linda J. Waite, editor
HB1531 A35 2004 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Malcolm L. Johnson
HQ1061 C315 2005 (Memorial Library)

Erdman Palmore, Laurence Branch, Diana Harris, editors
HQ1061 E63 2005 (Memorial Library Reference)

Richard Schulz, editor-in-chief
HQ1061 E53 2006 (Memorial Library Reference)
2 volumes

Edited by Robert Binstock, Linda George
Available online through ScienceDirect

Edited by K. Warner Schaie, Sherry L. Willis
Available online through ScienceDirect

Peter Uhlenberg, editor
Available online through ProQuest

Mark Novak
HQ1061 N883 2009 (Social Work Library)

United Nations
HQ1061 W665 2001 (Memorial Library)

Andrew Fagan
JC571 F33 2010 (College Library & Memorial Library Reference)

Edited by Robert E. Weir
HN90 S6 C564 2007 (College Library & Historical Society Library)
3 volume set

Mary Shaw
HM548 H36 2007 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Joan E. Grusec, and Paul D. Hastings
HM 686 H2362s 2007 (Ebling Library)

Edited by Dominic Abrams, Julie Christian and David Gordon
HM1131 M85 2007 (Memorial Library)
Also available online through Wiley Online Library eBooks

Edited by Wiemer Salverda, Brian Nolan and Timothy M. Smeeding
HB523 O9 2009 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Margaret S. Herrman
HM1126 B53 2006 (Memorial Library)

Nicky Ali Jackson, editor
HV6626 E534 2007 (College Library)

Dinah L. Shelton, editor in chief
HV6322.7 E532 2005 (Memorial Library Reference)
3 volumes

Edited by Laura L. Finley
HV9104 E59 2007 (College Library)

Editor-in-chief, Lester Kurtz
HM291 E625 2008 (Memorial Library)
3 volumes

Peter Karsten, editor
E181 .E634 2006 (Historical Society Reading Room)
3 volumes

Edited by Nancy E. Dowd, Dorothy G. Singer, Robin Fretwell Wilson
HQ784 V55 H34 2006 (Social Work Library)

Everett L. Worthington, Jr., editor
BF637 F67 H36 2005 (Social Work Library)

Edited by Giuseppe Caforio
U21.5 H368 2006 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Lisa A. Rapp-Paglicci, Albert R. Roberts, John S. Wodarski
HM1116 H36 2002 (College Library & Memorial Library)

Edited by Donald Bloxham and A. Dirk Moses
Available online through Oxford Handbooks Online

Editors, John G. Oetzel, Stella Ting-Toomey
HM1126 S24 2006 (Memorial Library)

Kendra E. Dupuy and Krijn Peters
HQ784 W3 D87 2010 (College Library)

Norfleet W. Rives
HB849.53 B37 1995 (Memorial Library)

Ness, Immanuel
Available online through Proquest Ebook Central eBooks

Edited by Paul Demeny, Geoffrey McNicoll
Available online through Gale Ebooks
HB871 E538 2003 (Memorial Library Reference)
2 volumes: https://search.library.wisc.edu/catalog/999957911002121

Edited by Sandra L. Hofferth, Lynne M. Casper
HQ10 H24 2007 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Dudley L. Poston, Michael Micklin
Available online through SocINDEX
HB871 H3447 2005 (Memorial Library)

United Nations: Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division
HA13 U5 Ser.F no.92 (Memorial Library)
Print and Online access

World Bank
HB849.2 P67 1986 (Memorial Library)

Geoffrey Gilbert
HB871 G47 2005 (College Library & Memorial Library Reference)

"Contains summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research."

"Over 10,000 tables displaying statistical data from over 2,500 public and private agencies, academic institutions, research organizations, public opinion polling firms, and other groups."

Law Building
975 Bascom Mall
Phone: (608) 262-1128
Reference Desk: (608) 262-3394
Email: askuwlaw@law.wisc.edu

"A bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information in all fields of education, from early childhood to higher ed, including educational specialty fields (e.g. multilingual education, health education, testing), curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues."

"Indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources."

Edited by Maureen T. Hallinan
Available online through SocINDEX

Edited by Carlos Alberto Torres and Ari Antikainen
LC189 I53 2003 (Merit Library Professional)

Edited by Michael W. Apple, Stephen J. Ball and Luis Armando Gandin
Available online through ProQuest Ebook Central
LC191 R684 2010 (MERIT Library Professional)

School of Education
225 N. Mills St.
3rd Floor
Phone: (608) 263-4750
Email: askmerit@education.wisc.edu

Cashmore, Ellis
Available online through EBSCOhost & ProQuest Ebook Central
GN495.6 C37 2004 (Memorial Library Reference)

Patrick L. Mason, editor in chief
4 volume set
Available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks

Richard T. Schaefer, editor
HT1521 E63 2008 (Memorial Library Reference)

"Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives."

Edited by Herná́n Vera, Joe R. Feagin
HT1521 H29 2007 (Memorial Library Stacks)

"Includes citations and summaries of journal articles covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."

Edited by Jodi O’Brien
HQ1115 E54 2009 (Memorial Library Reference)
2 volume set

Fedwa Malti-Douglas, editor-in-chief
HQ16 E52 2007 (Gender and Women's Studies Librarian's Office & Memorial Library Reference)
4 volume set

"A gender and women's issues database with thousands of English-language full-text articles from over 200 magazines, academic journals, regional publications, and newsletters."

Edited by Raka Ray
HQ1075.5 I4 H36 2012 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Kathy Davis, Mary Evans, and Judith Lorber
HQ1180 H355 2006 (Gender and Women's Studies Librarian's Office & Memorial Library)

Edited by William Meezan and James I. Martin
HV1449 H36 2009 (Social Work Library)

Edited by Janet Saltzman Chafetz
HQ1075 H36 2006 (Memorial Library)

"Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 110 full-text monographs/books and indexing of additional books and periodicals."

Edited by Peter Aggleton and Richard Parker
Available online through ProQuest Ebook Central
HQ21 R875 2010 (Gender and Women's Studies Librarian's Office)

"Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world, starting in 1972."

Memorial Library, Room 430
Phone: (608) 263-5754
Email: askgwsl@library.wisc.edu

Winkelman, Michael.
W 84.1 W774c 2009 (Ebling Library)

"A multidisciplinary database that covers all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources."

Edited by Richard M. Eisler, Michel Hersen.
Available online through EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Chloe E. Bird
Available online through Project Muse
RA418 H29 2010 (Social Work Library)

"A database of evaluation and measurement tools designed to facilitate health and psychosocial studies. the measurement instruments available include questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, interview schedules, and a variety of other means of evaluation."

"Covers public health, safety, and industrial hygiene including aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics. "

"A consumer-health database. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides full text since 1990 from nearly 280 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 300 periodicals."

"Provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences."

Health Sciences Learning Center
750 Highland Ave.
Entrance on the 2nd floor of the HSLC
Phone: (608) 262-2020
Email: askebling@hsl.wisc.edu

"Indexes more than 600 of the leading journals in the field of religion and theology."

Edited by Helen Rose Ebaugh
BL60 H266 2005 (Memorial Library Reference)
Also available online through SocINDEX

Edited by Michele Dillon
BL60 H355 2003 (Memorial Library)

Edited by Peter B. Clarke
Available online through Oxford handbooks online

Rudi Volti
Q121 V65 1999 (Memorial Library Reference & Steenbock Library)

Q158.5 ,H36 2017 (Steenbock Library)

Editor in chief, J.L. Heilbron
Available online through Oxford Reference Online Premium
Q125 O86 2003 (Memorial Library Reference)

David E. Newton
Q175.5 N45 1999 (Memorial Library Reference)