Folklore : Web Sites and Associations

"Images, sounds, written accounts, and a myriad more items of cultural documentation await researchers at the Center's Archive of Folk Culture, where over 4,000 collections, assembled over the years from "many workers" embody the very heart and soul of our national traditional life and the cultural life of communities from many regions of the world."

"The Center for the Study of Upper Midwestern Cultures is committed to preserving the languages and cultural traditions of this region's diverse peoples. We foster research and the preservation of archival collections, while producing educational and outreach programs for a broad public audience."

This site includes public domain folktales along with their Aarne-Thompson-Uther (ATU) type numbers.

Tips and tricks for designing, preparing, collecting, and preserving folklore fieldwork. (4th Edition eBook)

UW-Madison Folklore Program Siftr map and images collection.

From Indiana University; A collection of digital resources centered around folklore studies and several sub-communities.

Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures. The films on Folkstreams were produced by independent filmmakers. These documentaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.

List of physical and electronic folklore reference journals.

"The home to the world’s largest collection of folk art. The collection of more than 135,000 artifacts forms the basis for exhibitions in four distinct wings: Bartlett, Girard, Hispanic Heritage, and Neutrogena."

"Created by the American Folklore Society and the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries–is a new scholarly resource that will make a greater number and variety of useful resources, both published and unpublished, available for the field of folklore studies and the communities with which folklore scholars partner."

There is a pressing need to build a sustainable, authoritative, and collaborative framework that will put museums, libraries, and oral historians in a position to address collectively issues of video, digitization, preservation, and intellectual property and to provide both a scholarly framework and regularly updated best practices for moving forward. This site is dedicated to taking on this challenge.

The Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History at the University of Kentucky Libraries has created a web-based system called OHMS (Oral History Metadata Synchronizer) to inexpensively and efficiently enhance access to oral history online. OHMS provides users word-level search capability and a time-correlated transcript or indexed interview connecting the textual search term to the corresponding moment in the recorded interview online.

"An expanding digital collection, featuring documentary sources and material culture from Wisconsin libraries, archives, and museums." Formerly titled Wisconsin Heritage Online (WHO)

"Dedicated to the collaborative research, presentation, conservation, and continuity of traditional knowledge and artistry with diverse contemporary cultural communities in the United States and around the world."

StoryCorps’ mission is to provide people of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share and preserve the stories of our lives. Since 2003, StoryCorps has collected and archived more than 50,000 interviews with over 100,000 participants. Each conversation is recorded on a CD to share, and is preserved at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.

"An ongoing series of stories from native communities around the Great Lakes. Includes videos, maps, and digital media exploring contemporary Native culture and language."

"A website for students, educators, and the general public. On Wisconsin Folks, you can: meet over 70 traditional and ethnic dancers, musicians, cooks, craftspeople, and regional specialists; learn details of how they make their art; understand how their art is connected to cultural life in Wisconsin."

The American Folklore Society is a membership organization dedicated to supporting the individuals and organizations engaged in the study and advancement of folklore and expressive cultural traditions throughout the world. AFS serves its members and the general public by providing programming, publications, policies, and resources examining and affirming the diversity of human creativity across time, heritages, and places.

"A growing field of folklore research concerns the legends, rumors, and beliefs that circulate through modern media and the complex networks of modern communications. In order to gain a better understanding of the dynamics and function of these "contemporary" genres, scholars have recognized the need for worldwide links among legend and rumor scholars."

"The Center for Folklore Studies at the Ohio State University supports the learning, teaching, research and outreach of folklorists and students of folklore. With participation from across the University, the Center promotes interdisciplinary dialogue about the important role of vernacular knowledge and practice in all areas of human activity, from confronting climate change to battling food insecurity, from understanding aging to transforming urban neighborhoods."

"Seeks to bring together all persons interested in oral history as a way of collecting and interpreting human memories to foster knowledge and human dignity."

The Society for Ethnomusicology was founded in 1955 to promote the research, study, and performance of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts.