Japan Studies: Japanese Folklore : Groups (Occupational, Communal, Minority)

1. Introduction -- Pt. 1. Unikon Camera. 2. Learning to Protest: Class Consciousness, Solidarity, and Political
Action. 3. Playing with Social Relations: Hierarchy, Organization, and Affect on a Union Trip. 4. The Phoenix Falters: Solidarity, Community, and Conflict -- Pt. 2. Universal Shoes. 5. Routinizing an Ideal: Democracy and Participation in Union Meetings. 6. Arousing Thoughts,
Persuasive Actions: Identity, Experience, and Consciousness in a Demonstration. 7. Working as Protest: Dignity, Routine, and Daily Life. 8. Endings.

A newer edition: GT3412 D34 1998 (with a new preface)

Introduction: Strategic exchanges -- Baptized by fire -- Analysing frames -- Frames at work -- Managing impressions -- Making connections -- Doing business -- Exhibition of virtue -- The art of capitalizing -- Creative fields -- Conclusion: The business of ethnography.

First Encounter -- Day Laborers in the Political Economy of Japan -- Fieldwork -- Sakae -- General Historical Background -- Mushuku and Hinin -- Hiyatoi : Burakumin :: Hinin : Eta? -- The Preindustrial Proletariat -- License, Welfare, Control -- The Ninsoku Yoseba of 1790 -- The Industrial Revolution -- The Interwar Years -- The Postwar Yoseba -- The Modern Construction Industry --Tadao -- Ethnography of Kotobuki -- Location -- Landscape/Atmosphere -- Population -- History --Employment -- Residence -- Play and Other Nonwork Activities -- Bureaucratic Systems -- Health -- The Union -- Kohei -- Ethnography of Other Doya-Gai and Yoseba -- San'ya (Tokyo) -- Kamagasaki (Osaka) -- Sasashima (Nagoya) -- Day Laboring in Fukuoka Prefecture -- Other Yoseba -- Noriyuki -- Who Are These Men? -- Geographical Background -- Occupational Background -- Age -- Marital Status -- Sibling Group Size and Sibling Birth Order -- The War and the Big Move -- Ron-chan -- The Meaning of Home -- Why Mr. Shinohara Sleeps
in the Street -- Homelessness: Narrow and Broad Definitions -- Symbolic Representations of Home -- Kuriyama -- Marginal Identity in the Yoseba-- Marginality -- Freedom -- Fate -- Kimitsu -- The Role of the Yoseba
in Contemporary Japanese Society -- Zoned Tolerance -- Marginal Geography -- The View from the Mainstream -- The View from Inside --Yoseba versus Skid Row -- Containment versus Dispersal -- Shigehiro -- Epilogue: The Rise of Uncertainty, the Fall of Solidarity.

Held by Mem Lib and Geography Lib

Introduction : I is an other -- An archive of activism -- Confession and the crisis of Buraku writing in the 1970s -- Constituents of national literature -- Inaudible man -- The 38th parallax: Nakagami in/and Korea -- Subculture and the south.

European images of the Ainu and Ainu studies in Europe / Josef Kreiner -- Philipp Franz von Siebold and the Ainu language / Frits Vos -- Einige Bemerkungen zur Grammatik der Ainu: Zu den Anfängen der Wissenschaftlichen Beschäftigung mit der Ainu Sprache / Hans A. Dettmer -- The Ainu concept of time as expressed through language / Kirsten Refsing -- Dawn of Russian ethnology: researchers and convicts around Bronislaw Pilsudski / Kato Kyuzo -- On Poles collecting data related to the anthropology and material culture of the Ainu / Alfred F. Majewicz -- John Batchelor's contributions to Ainu ethnography / Hans Dieter Ölschleger -- A Scottish doctor's vocation: Gordon Munro and the Ainu collections at the National Museum of Scotland / Jane Wilkinson -- The Ainu collection at the Horniman Museum and Library, London / Ken Teague -- Ainu collections at the Linden-Museum, Stuttgart / Peter Thiele -- Ainu collections at the Museum of Ethnology (Museum für Völkerkunde), Wien / Walter Warthol -- Ainu collections in the museums of St. Petersburg / Alexander B. Spevakovski -- On Ainu-e: pictorial descriptions of Ainu life and customs / Sasaki Toshikazu -- The Ainu scroll at the Museum of Ethnography, Hamburg / Gernot Prunner -- Ainu collections in European museums / Josef Kreiner -- Preliminary notes on Ainu materials in North American museums / Kotani Yoshinobu -- Ainu collections in Japanese museums / Josef Kreiner -- Catalogues of exhibitions and holdings of Ainu culture in Japanese museums / Matsue Mariko.

Contains personal accounts by Ainu people