Textiles : Articles
Textile Journals
Manage Your References
The libraries support several citation managers to help you capture, store and cite your references. See more information on Endnote, Zotero, Mendeley, and Papers see the libraries website.
Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for most topics of interest in textle studies
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage: 1984- (updated daily)
- ARTbibliographies ModernABM covers the subject areas of modern and contemporary art and design and the history of photography. ABM abstracts journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
- Art Full TextArt Full Text indexes approximately 450 key English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins (of which 117 are full text).
- Bibliography of the History of ArtBroad in scope, Bibliography of the History of Art’s citations encompass fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts—crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art among them.
- British Humanities IndexBHI indexes and abstracts more than 370 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards. (Updated monthly)
- DesignInFormDesigninform consists of three databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective, DesignPROFILES and ReVIEW. Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is the retrospective of Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI). Coverage: (DAR) 1903-1985 with some sources back to 1894. (Updated quarterly)
- Humanities International CompleteComprehensive database covering more than 2,100 journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities, with a focus on literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveJSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in numerous fields.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Core Reference Databases
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources with information about textile arts.
- Grove Art Online (SEE ALSO: Oxford Art Online)This database contains the full text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art (1996), with ongoing revisions and updates. The searchable articles cover all aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphics, contemporary art forms such as performance and installation, architecture, decorative arts, and photography) from prehistory to the present. History of film making is excluded. In addition, this resource provides access to online images via Art Resource and ARTstor, as well as links to other external websites containing images.
WGSN: Fashion
An online news, information and fashion images database for the fashion and style industries. Coverage includes fashion trends and forecasting, design, company profiles, as well as news items on e-commerce, finance, advertising, and marketing.
Fashion and Race Database
Fashion and Race Database
Collection of articles, reading lists, object collections, podcast episodes, and essays at the intersection of fashion and race that examine the fashion industry.
