English and Language Arts Education : Lesson Plans
Ask a Librarian at MERIT
If chat is offline, click here to Ask a Librarian via UW-Madison Libraries general library help chat.
Lesson Plan Websites for English Language Arts
Here are some useful websites for planning English Language Arts lessons.
- ReadWriteThinkLesson plans, standards, web resources and student materials. Search by grade and literacy strand.
- English Lesson Plans--Jumpstart.comFree lesson plans, activites and worksheets for K-5th grade.
- PBS Learning MediaMultimedia content with corresponding lesson plans.
- Reading/Writing Lesson Plans--Teachers.netLots of free lesson plans.
- Teach-nologyFree online resource with lesson plans worksheets and more.
Content-related Websites
Web resources for your classroom or for your own information. They don't have full lesson plans, but many of them offer suggestions for classroom activities.
- Between the Lions - PBSKidsEach week this site, related to the PBS TV show, features a different online story. Each story offers games with different themes and activities.
- Book AdventureA free, web-based reading incentive program. Allows parents, guardians, and educators to track their readers' independent reading progress and select literature appropriate for every grade level. Children have more than 6,000 titles from which to read.
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature SiteContains book reviews, ideas for using these books in the classroom, and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes, and professional topics.
- Database of Award-Winning Children's LiteratureA searchable database designed to produce tailored reading lists of quality children's literature based on criteria such as ethnicity, gender, period, and location. Includes award winners from most of the major children's literature awards.
- EducationPlaceDescriptions of the Houghton Mifflin text series, links to Internet based reading/language arts activities for specific grade levels, and links to other Internet sites on reading/language arts.
- Into the BookInto the Book and its accompanying teacher resource program, Behind the Lesson, will help young students go beyond the mechanics of reading to true comprehension.
- KidPubThousands of stories written by children for other children to read, as well as a source of great ideas for language arts teachers.
- National Council of Teachers of EnglishA professional association of educators in English studies, literacy and language arts. There are numerous informational pages including "teaching ideas" and "standards."
- Online Books PageA guide to the complete text of 4000+ titles on the Internet. Searchable by title and author, this list includes children's classics such as Grimm's Fairy Tales, Adventures of Tom Sawyer, and Little Women.
- Reading RainbowBroadcast schedules and summaries of titles presented on this popular PBS series. Information on locating teacher resources for these titles is also included.
- Scripps National Spelling BeeDesigned to help potential contestants prepare for spelling bees, this site contains official rules, study tips, and results of past National Spelling Bees. Audio files of word pronunciations and definitions can be downloaded.
- Story Place - The Children's Digital LibraryAvailable in both English and Spanish versions, StoryPlace contains stories for both pre-school and elementary students. The stories feature sounds, read-along text, and narration. Each story has a related online learning activity, an at-home activity, and more.
- TeachingBooksTargeted at educators and featuring short movies about authors and their processes, authors reading excerpts of their books, and book guides and lesson plans, TeachingBooks.net has lots of resources to include in English Language Arts lessons.
