ESL/ELL Education : Lesson Plans
Ask a Librarian at MERIT
If chat is offline, click here to Ask a Librarian via UW-Madison Libraries general library help chat.
Library Resources for Finding Images
Find images to help your students understand new skills.
Find images in the UW-Madison's Digital Collections Center and other digital image collections at UW-Madison.
- University of Wisconsin Digital CollectionsThe University of Wisconsin Digital Collections provides free and open access to digital resources, including images, slides, maps, prints, and posters, that support the teaching and resources needs of the UW Community.
Online Resources for Finding Images
Free, copyright-friendly image collections on the Web.
- Creative CommonsCreative Commons images are free of traditional copyright restrictions.
Using Images Responsibly
Images aren't free! Learn how not to get busted for copyright infringement.
- Using Images: Copyright and ReproductionLibGuide created by MIT on Copyright & Fair Use.
Lesson Plan Websites for ESL/ELL
- EFL/ESL Lessons and Lesson PlansLessons, articles, techniques and activities for ELL students.
- ESL Teacher Lesson Plans & WorksheetsLesson plans and worksheets for teachers sorted by level, grammar topic, and theme.
- Manythings.org: Interesting Things for ESL StudentsThis web site is for people studying English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as a Foreign Language (EFL). There are quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer-assisted language learning activities.
- Boggle's World ESLWorksheets, flashcards and lesson plans sorted by grade level.
- Read. Write. ThinkAn easy-to-use teacher-created lesson database. Includes extensive, engaging lesson plans and activities for ELLs at all grade levels.
Supporting ELLs Through Project-Based Learning
Created by The Teaching Channel in partnership with the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
Content-related Websites
- Language through Art: Adult ESL Workshops (J. Paul Getty Museum)In this program, participants receive materials, training, and guidance on how to use the Getty's adult ESL curricula in their classrooms.
- English Grammar Quizzes Using JavaScriptOver 1,000 activities to help you study English as a Second Language.
- The Internet for ESL TeachersTips and tools for learning English through the Internet.
- The Internet TESL JournalIncludes articles, research papers, lessons plans, classroom handouts, teaching ideas and links.
- National Clearinghouse for English Language AcquisitionIncludes information on grants, statistics, professional development activities, best practices, and other resources related to English Language Learning.
- Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab - For ESL/EFL StudentsIncludes vocabulary lessons, listening quizzes, and study guides for English Language Learners.
- TESOL - Home PageIncludes links to articles, organizations, professional development activities, and other resources related to teaching English.
- TOEFL: Test of English as a Foreign LanguageIncludes information about registering, preparing for, and taking the TOEFL test.
- TOPICS Online Magazine Online Magazine for Learners of EnglishThis publication gives English Language Learners the opportunity to express and publish their ideas in English to an online audience.
- UVic's Language Teaching Clipart LibraryOver 3000 images for teaching basic vocabulary in a variety of languages.
- International Children's Digital LibraryFree digitized picture books written in English, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese and much more. Some books are bilingual. Great for vocabulary development, motivation and engagement with ELL readers. Provides ideas for literacy activities. You can create your own account of digital books for your classroom and lesson planning needs.