Researching Art Sales : Where to Start
Monograms and Illegible Signatures
Kohler Art Library has reference books that reproduce hard-to-read signatures. Look in the N45 call number range in the reference collection. For example:
- The Classified Directory of Artists' Signature, Symbols, & MonogramsN45 C36 1982, located in the Oversized Art Reference Collection
- Dictionary of Signatures & monograms of American Artists : From the Colonial Period to the Mid 20th CenturyN45 F35 1988, located in the Art Reference Collection
Marks
Kohler Art Library has reference books on ceramic and metalsmith marks. Look in the NK call number range in the reference collection. Other sources may be available online.
Identification Guides
Kohler Art Library has a variety of guides that might assist in identification of decorative art objects. Look in the NK call number range in the reference collection or search the Library Catalog.
For example:
Artist Name and Spelling
Check artist biographical sources to help match uncertain spelling guesses to known artists' names. Some of these sources are located in the Kohler Art Library; others can be accessed online. Below are a few examples. Ask the reference librarian for help finding others.
NOTE: No source includes every artist. Even if you do not find your artist name, the spelling may be correct. It could be your artist is simply not included in the source.
- Allgemeines Künstler-LexiconN40 M94, located in the Art Reference Collection (on freestanding bookcase)
NOTE: Although this artist encyclopedia is in German, it is the largest single compilation of artist biographical information available. Verify if it does or does not acknowledge your artist. - Who Was Who in American ArtN6536 W49 1999, located in the Art Reference Collection
- Union List of Artist Names Online (Getty Research Institute)Publicly available online.
More Biography and Additional Information
If your artist is well-represented in artist biographical sources, you may be able to find more extensive information that could help place your work within the career output of the artist. Knowing more about the piece can help in estimating value.
- Oxford Art OnlineGrove Art Online and Benezit's Dictionary of Artists sometimes provide bibliographies of books about the artist to consult for further information.
- Library Catalog SearchA catalogue raisonne is a comprehensive catalog of artwork by an artist. To find catalogue raisonnes housed within the Kohler Art Library's collection, search for artist name + "catalogue raisonne"
The Kohler Art Library provides other art research databases for articles and images and more. See the research guide for Art History or ask the art librarian.
