Materials Science Engineering (MSE) : Data & Handbooks
Research guide for materials science and engineering topics.
Polymer Engineering Handbooks
Physical Properties of Polymers Handbook by Call Number: TA455 P58 P474 2007ISBN: 0387312358Publication Date: 2006
Selection of Polymeric Materials by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0815515510Publication Date: 2008
Additional Handbooks & Materials Selection
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by Call Number: TA403.4 C74 2001ISBN: 9780849326967Publication Date: 2000-12-26Available in print only
ASM Handbooks OnlineCall Number: S AM279 MAvailable online and in print Comprehensive information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials, including alloy phase diagrams.
The Materials Selector by Call Number: TA403 C733 1997ISBN: 9780412615504Publication Date: 1996Available in print only Includes properties, performance and processability of metals, plastics, carbon and graphite, glasses, ceramics, polymerics and composites.
Smithells Metals Reference Book by Call Number: TA459 S6 2004ISBN: 9780750675093Publication Date: 2003Available online Provides data on key aspects of metallic materials, and includes an extensive bibliography.
Raw and Finished Materials by ISBN: 9781606500750Publication Date: 2012Available online Includes physical and mechanical characteristics of 600 specific materials, categorized as metals, plastics, wood products and composites. Also includes typical uses, with both generic and trade names.
Materials and Design: The Art and Science of Material Selection in Product Design by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1856174972Publication Date: 2009Available online Great resource co-authored by a materials engineer and an industrial designer.
Handbook of Materials Selection by Call Number: TA403.4 H368 2002ISBN: 0471359246Publication Date: 2002Available in print only
Handbook of Materials Behavior Models by Call Number: TA403.6 H36 2001ISBN: 0124433413Publication Date: 2001Available in print only
Data, Properties & Material Selection
See Also: Chemistry Library index to Physical and Chemical Properties. Browse by Property (e.g., heat of fusion) to see resources in campus libraries with property data.
- SciFinderSciFinder Web requires an individual SciFinder username and password using an @wisc.edu email address. SciFinder is used to access information in selected Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CAPlus, CARegistry, CAREACTS, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLISTS, plus Medline (1946-present). It permits searching in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier (CAS Registry Number, chemical name), chemical structure/substructure, or chemical reaction.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Call Number: TP9 E68 2004ISBN: 9780471484943Publication Date: 2004-03-29
The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and TechnologyAvailable online only.
Multi-volume, comprehensive encyclopedic set focusing on: functional and structural phenomena, fundamental core theory, structural materials, polymers and materials chemistry and functional materials.
