Computer Sciences : Patents
What Is a Patent?
A patent is a grant of property right by the government to an inventor preventing others from making, using, or selling a new and useful invention for a period of 20 years from application date.
Watch library videos on patents:
- Part 1 (What are patents? What can be patented?)
- Part 2 (What are the elements of a patent? What can you learn from patents?)
How are patents different from trademarks and copyrights?
Watch a video on IP basics from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Basic Facts: Trademarks, Patents and Copyrights
Why search patents?
Searching patents during design can help you:
- Determine if your design idea is novel
- Identify areas you may need to design around to avoid infringement
- Find inventors (technical experts) with whom to collaborate
- Find inventions that are free to use because of expired or unissued patents
- Monitor emerging designs in a technology area that may not be published elsewhere
- Identify key companies in a technology area who may be interested in your design.
Patent Search Strategies
This video explains patent search strategies using Google Patents and Espacenet.
- Search full text of US patents from 1976 to the present
- Retrieve PDF patent images 1790-present using Patent Number Search or Classification number search
- Precise searching in 56 fields
- Search published US Patent Applications in a separate database (access using the right-hand box on search page)
- Step-by-step guide to searching the USPTO database
- Worldwide patent database with over 80 million patent documents from 92 countries
- Patent documents in the language of the issuing country; >5 million have a searchable English abstract
- Includes US patents and applications searchable by keyword in title and abstract
- Patent images are in PDF
- Save selected results in "My Patent List" or download to Excel spreadsheet
- Step-by-step guide to using Espacenet
- Keyword searching of all US patents from 1790 to present & US applications 2001 to present (update frequency unknown)
- Adding International, European and other countries' patent documents
- Filter search results by clicking on "Search Tools" button
- Patent overview includes links to US & International Classification tools, links to other databases, and patent status information
- Good place to start a preliminary patent search - complete the search in a database like USPTO or Espacenet
- Access to all US patents and patent applications, plus other regions & countries (EPO, WIPO, Japan)
- Free registration allows saved searches, alerts, RSS feeds, and exporting data to Excel
More on Patents
Patenting for UW Researchers and Students
- Serves the University of Wisconsin-Madison scientific community
- Patents the discoveries of UW-Madison researchers
- Licenses technologies to leading companies in Wisconsin, the United States and worldwide
UW-Madison Graduate School policies - Intellectual Property
UW Office of Corporate Relations "The front door to the University for business and industry"
(Video) Patents and Inventions: common questions asked by students when it comes to patents and inventions. Stephanie Whitehorse, WARF Manager of Intellectual Property Operations.