Women and Popular Culture : Websites

Women's Knowledge Digital Library (WKDL) 

resources are divided alphabetically by topic and include websites, reports, articles, research, audiovisual materials, and more. Take a look at these examples then click on the bolded title for a complete list of websites.

Media, Journalism, and Advertising

• Gender Ads Project is focused on the cultural intersections of gender and advertising. Its goal is to promote greater awareness of the relationships of gender and advertising as well as an understanding of the social, cultural, political, personal, psychological and other effects of gender and advertising. Featuring 4,000 ads.
• Girls Talk: The Sexualization of Girls is a short video created by the American Psychological Association. In the video, six middle school girls to sit down and share their thoughts about the images of girls they see all around them and how they feel about the way girls today are portrayed.
• Vintage Ad Browser features a Gender Advertisements collection which are related to gender or gender issues, and may contain sexist stereotyping.​

Arts and Literature

• An Overview of Feminist Artists compiled by Charles Moffat, part of the Art History Archive; Also see Feminism and Feminist Art
• The Feminist Art Project is an international collaborative initiative at Rutgers celebrating the Feminist Art Movement and the aesthetic, intellectual and political impact of women on the visual arts,art history and art practice, past and present.

​Film and Theater 

• The Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film at San Diego State University is the most widely cited and trusted source of information on the representation of women in film and television.
• Films for the Feminist Classroom is a an online, open-access journal, which publishes film reviews that provide a critical assessment of the value of films as pedagogical tools in the feminist classroom. Special features, such as interviews with filmmakers, reviews of film festivals, and discussions about pedagogy are included to further promote engagement and discussion. 

Media

• Gender & Media Handbook is from the Mediterranean Institute of Gender Studies, located in Cyprus. It describes how media report issues of gender and conflict and includes guidelines on “best practices.”
• MediaWatch challenges racism, sexism, and violence in the media. Site includes numerous articles.
• National Women and Media Collection is a joint venture of the University of Missouri School of Journalism and the Western Historical Manuscript Collection. Site includes descriptions of the collections of women’s papers and organizational records held there.

Music

• Women in Music believes that the conversation around equality is an inclusive discussion where all voices are welcome.