- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Fashion in History
Fashion : Fashion in History
Links to fashion resources
- American Memory (Library of Congress)Searchable collection of online historical images. May also be browsed by topic, time period, or place.
- Cornell Costume and Textile CollectionHighlights of past exhibits and important garments, as well as a searchable database for a portion of the more than 9,000 items of apparel dating from the eighteenth century to the present, as well as a substantial collection of ethnographic textiles and
- The Costume PageCostume and costuming-related links.
- The Costumer's ManifestoVery comprehensive collection of costume links including History Sorted by Period and Men's Fashion History.
- Fashion EraHundreds of content-rich, illustrated pages of fashion history, costume history, clothing, fashions, and social history.
- Fashion Plate CollectionDigitized fashion plates from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century. University of Washington Digital Collections.
- Picture Collection Online (New York Public Library)Use the Browse feature to view historical images of clothing & dress, regional costume, fashion drawings, and accessories.
- Timeline FashionA century of fashion and fashion designers.
- Wisconsin Historical ImagesSearchable collection of online images from the State Historical Society. Can also be browsed by subjects such as "clothing and dress ", "persons", "domestic life " or "manners & customs".
An online news, information and fashion images database for the fashion and style industries. Coverage includes fashion trends and forecasting, design, company profiles, as well as news items on e-commerce, finance, advertising, and marketing.
- The Renaissance Tailor: Recreating 16th and 17th Century ClothingBrief list of textile and garment terms.