ILS 204: Western Culture: Literature and the Arts II (Spring 2025) : Find Articles
Locating Article Databases
The following are different ways to access databases on the Library website for searching for articles:
- Browse By Subject/TypeOrganization of databases by subject or discipline and source type
- Introductory DatabasesShort list of databases by subject
- Top 10 Databases10 most popular databases
- UW Libraries Search Box – Dropdown OptionsOptions allow searching a subset of the Libraries' resources (books, articles, journals, etc.)
Article Databases
Literature
- Literature Resource CenterInformation on a large number of authors and literary works.
- MLA International BibliographyModern Language Association International Bibliography includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineSubject-based research guides containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars in the field. Handbooks contain topical introductions and reviews of the key issues and major debates.
History
- Historical AbstractsHistory database (EBSCO) that provides access to journal articles that cover topics related to world history. For U.S. and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.
- America: History and LifeDatabase that provides access to journal articles covering topics related to United States and Canadian history. For the rest of the world, see Historical Abstracts.
Art
- Art Full TextDatabase providing access to scholarly articles, art reproductions, artist interviews and profiles, and more. Also covers related fields, such as media, culture, women's studies, and history.
Multi-Subject
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
- Humanities International CompleteDatabase of journal articles, books, essays, and reviews covering all aspects of the humanities, with a focus on literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTORArchive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title).
- Project MuseJournals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage in art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
Getting to the Full Article
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access the full article (when available)
- determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)
If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.
Searching Databases
- Searching DatabasesTip sheet and video tutorial
Search Tips
- Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order - usually narrows search, reduces results
- poetry AND religion
- Use OR to combine similar words or synonyms or variations - usually broadens search, increases results
- women OR femininity
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search words as a phrase - usually narrows search, reduces results
- "English poetry"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied endings of words and singular and plural forms - usually broadens search, increases results
- feminin* finds feminine, femininity
- Look at Subject Terms to find additional keywords and use them to find relevant and specific results.
- Look for an option to limit to Scholarly Journals on the left side of search results in most databases
For more search tips, see this tutorial: