Open Access Resources for Russian and Soviet Studies : Home

• University of Wisconsin Libraries Digital Collection: Eastern European and Slavic Studies Collection

• Brigham Young University - European Document Collection: History of Russia - Primary Documents

• CIA World Factbook: Russia

• Harvard University: Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online

• Library of Congress: Prokudin-Gorskii (Photograph) Collection

• Library of Congress: Brumfield (Photograph) Collection

• Library of Congress: Winokur-Munblit Imperial Russia Postcard Collection

• Michigan State University: Seventeen Moments in Soviet History

• University of Pittsburgh: Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana

• 1917 Free History: Project 1917

• Minority Rights Group: Russian Federation

• Hathi Trust Digital Library

• CIA FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) Electronic Reading Room: Materials on the Soviet Union

• National Security Archive: Russian Programs

• United Nations: League of Nations Archives

• 1914-1918-online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War: Russian Empire

• Blavatnik Archive: Soviet materials

• Wilson Center Digital Archive: Russia collection, Soviet Foreign Policy collection and Soviet nuclear history collection.

• Reagan Presidential Library: Soviet Union briefing file, 1985

• United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees: Russia: Situation and treatment of visible ethnic minorities; availability of state protection

• Journal of Russian American Studies (Open Access journal)

• Europeana (includes materials on the Soviet Union and Russial)

• Ethnic Discrimination in Multi-ethnic Societies: Evidence from Russia (Open Access journal article)

MAPS

• University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries: Ethnographic map of the Soviet Union (in English and Japanese)

• University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries: Carte ethnographique de l'Europe. (includes European part of Russia).

• University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries: Ethnic groups in southern Soviet Union and neighboring Middle Eastern countries

• University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries: Distribution of peoples and tribes in Soviet Union

• Library of Congress: Ethnographic map of Asiatic Russia (In Russian) [Ėtnograficheskai︠a︡ karta Azīi︠a︡tskoĭ Rossīi]