INTL ST 101: Introduction to International Studies (Spring 2025) : Find Articles

You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases. 

There are several ways to browse and select databases: 

Search by the title of the database (for example, 'Academic Search').

Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that cover your topic.

Go to the Introductory Databases page to find good starting databases in over 15 subject areas.

Visit the Top 10 Databases page to quickly access a selection of popularly-used databases. 

• Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order.
  • tourism AND economy
• Use OR to combine similar words or phrases to find either of the words or phrases.
  • economy OR business
• Use quotation marks to find words as a phrase
  • "local economies"
• Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied ends of words.
  • econom* will find results with economy, economic, and economies
• Review "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms.
• Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, or other). 

Follow   (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

• access the full article (when available)
• determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
• request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)

If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.