AFRICAN CULTURAL STUDIES 302: Arabic Literature and Cinema (Fall 2024) : Recommended Article Databases

The Modern Languages Association International Bibliography indexes 4,000 periodicals in English and other languages as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. It includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore.

Features modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres, with content from print reference titles such as: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism

This article database includes information on a large number of authors and literary works taken from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources. In addition to biographical information, It includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections.

Women's Studies International indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world, starting in about 1972.

BHI indexes and abstracts approximately 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

The IBSS indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology. Approximately 70% of the records are in English. (Updated quarterly)

Indexes more than 5600 periodicals in many languages; particularly strong in European humanities and social sciences.

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted. PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier are available for over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Humanities Index Complete is a comprehensive database covering more than 2,100 journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities, with a focus on literary, scholarly and creative thought.

The PIO database contains citations for more than 3,500 social science and humanities journals published in North America, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, and Germany. There are occasional abstracts, primarily consisting of contents notes (Updated annually -- present minus 8 years)

Coverage is international and includes a wide range of scholarly journal literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines with date coverage ranging from 1802 to 2000.

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of anthropology, economics, education, film, folklore, history, language, literature, sociology, and other subjects. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR.

Project Muse provides full text access to more than 300 humanities and social science journals from various publishers. Disciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.

Page facsimiles of all the issues of the London Times. Search by keyword and date and limit search to sections such as: Advertising, Pictures, People, News, Editorials. Sundays are not included.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.