SOC 134 Odyssey: Sociology of Race & Ethnicity in the United States (Fall 2024) : Finding Sources
Research for Assignment 3: Find a Relevant Article
Let's use this sample topic to find a relevant article:
"Is there a connection between social media use and loneliness among college students?"
To find information about this topic, use the Libraries' article databases:
- Start at the UW-Madison Libraries homepage.
- Select the word 'Catalog' above the large search box. This will open a drop-down menu.
- Select 'Databases' from the drop-down menu.
- Select the 'Introductory Databases' link under the search box.
- Select Academic Search from the list of databases and their subject areas. This is a good database for beginning research.
We can enter these search terms: "social media" and loneliness and teenagers
Examine the articles the database returns.
Look for:
- Subject Terms: wording suggestions or 'tags' the database provides to help you find additional relevant articles on a topic.
- Other words related to those we've already entered (for example, adolescent).
- Filters, such as article type and publication date. Use the tools that are most helpful for your topic, assignment, and research goals!
Revise your search terms based on the suggestions above.
Our revised search is now: ("social media" OR "social networks") and loneliness and (adolescent OR teenager)
Accessing Articles
To find the full text of an article, look for PDF Full Text, Linked Full Text, or HTML Full Text in the top left corner of the database page. These options will take you to the full text.
If none of these options are available, you may still be able to access the article. Click on the 'Find It at UW-Madison' button (pictured above). This will check if the full text is available in other databases, and if so, provide links to those databases. If it's still not available, there will be a link to request a copy. A librarian will find the article and send it to you for free!
Your Turn!
- Using the Academic Search database, enter search terms from your topic.
- Skim the first page of results (article titles).
- Do any articles appear useful for your research? Not sure? Click on a title for additional information.
The resources listed below may be helpful as you are searching for articles:
Other Useful Sources: Books
Books often provide background and comprehensive information about a topic. They are also outstanding for topics related to history! You don't need to read the whole book... There is likely an introductory chapter that frames the history/historical event, and individual chapters that cover subtopics (aspects of the history/historical event that may serve as subpoints you wish to address within your paper/assignment).
Other Useful Sources: CQ Researcher
- CQ Researcher (Current Issues)Still deciding on a topic? Or you have a topic and you're trying to identify subpoints? CQ Researcher provides excellent overview information, especially related to current issues.
