International Court of Justice
The Principal Court of the United Nations. "The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies."
https://www.icj-cij.org/en/court
The following materials contain full text cases from the International Court of Justice (For historical decisions from the ICJ's predecessor - prior to 1947- see 'Permanent Court of International Justice" at the bottom of this page):
- International Court of Justice [Electronic]Official site. Case information, documents, publications and more.
- International Court of Justice Decisions [Westlaw]Coverage begins in 1947.
- Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction [Electronic]Contentious and advisory cases from the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice. To access, at the top of the initial page, select "Content Type," then choose "International Court Decisions."
- World Courts [Electronic]ICJ decisions, 1947 to present.
- World Legal Information Institute - Int. Courts and Tribunals [Electronic]Decisions and transcripts from the ICJ from 1947 to present.
The following materials contain digests (and is some cases full text) of cases from the International Court of Justice:
- International Court of Justice. Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders [Print]Publication Date: Print not updated since 2016.
- World Court Digest [Electronic]Also available in print:
https://search.library.wisc.edu/catalog/999703708502121
Permanent Court of International Justice
The following materials contain full text cases from the Permanent Court of International Justice (the ICJ's predecessor):
- Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction [Electronic]Contentious and advisory cases from the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice. To access, at the top of the initial page, select "Content Type," then choose "International Court Decisions."
- World Legal Information Institute -- Int. Courts and Tribunals [Electronic]PCIJ decisions, selected from 1922-1946.
- Publications of the Permanent Court of International Justice. Series A, Collection of Judgements [Print and HeinOnline]On HeinOnline, see the Foreign and International Law Resources Database.
- Publications of the Permanent Court of International Justice. Series B, Collection of Advisory Opinions [Print and HeinOnline]On HeinOnline, see the Foreign and International Law Resources database.
- World Court Reports: A Collection of the Judgments, Orders and Opinions of the Permanent Court of International Justice [Print and HeinOnline]Also available on the HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources Database.
- The Case Law of the International Court: A Repertoire of the Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders of the Permanent Court of Justice and of the International Court of Justice [Print]A bibliography and digest covering from 1918-1974.
- Digest of the Decisions of the Permanent Court of International JusticeCoverage is 1922-1940.
International Criminal Court
"[I]nvestigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression. As a court of last resort, it seeks to complement, not replace, national Courts"
https://www.icc-cpi.int/about
The following materials contain full text cases from the International Criminal Court:
- International Criminal Court [Electronic]Official site. Cases, court records, legal texts, and other documents.
- ICC Legal Texts and Tools [Electronic]From the ICC website. Vast virtual library on International Criminal law, including cases and documents from the ICC and other courts and tribunals.
- World Legal Information Institute - Int. Courts and Tribunals [Electronic]Decisions and transcripts from the ICJ from 1947 to present.
- World Courts [Electronic]Decisions from the International Criminal Court, 2004 - present.
National and Miscellaneous Courts - Decisions involving Public International Law
- Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts [Electronic]Contentious and advisory cases from the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice. Coverage is 2000 to present. To access ILDC, at the top of the initial page, select "Content Type," then choose "Domestic Court Decisions."
- International Law Reports [Print]Series compiles landmark cases that have had a significant impact on international legal practices and precedents. From 1950-
- International Legal Materials [Print and Electronic]From the American Society of International Law. C Compiles significant documents related to international law, including treaties, court decisions, and other primary sources. On HeinOnline; Lexis; and Westlaw.
- World Courts [Electronic]Database of court decisions from over 50 international institutions.
- American International Law Cases [Print]Coverage is 1783 - 1969.
- Commonwealth International Law Cases [Print]Coverage is 1975-1995.
Select War Crimes Tribunals
The following is a selected list of links to various war crime tribunals. For decisions from other tribunals, as well as links to decisions from various human rights commissions, go to the World Courts site at : http://www.worldcourts.com/index_subject.htm
Browse to the "Human Rights" and "Criminal" categories.
- Global War Crimes Tribunal Collection [Print}Decisions and other materials from the Rwanda and Yugoslav Tribunals
- UN Legacy Website of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda [Electronic]Cases, documents and other materials.
- Residual Special Court for Sierra Leone [Electronic]Decisions and other documents.
- Special Tribunal for Lebanon [Electronic]Decisions and Other Documents.
- Harvard Law School Library Nuremberg Trials Project [Electronic]Documents, trial transcripts, photos, and more.