Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources
Whether you're looking for a specific treaty, an international court case, documents from international organizations, or just need a comprehensive overview of a legal topic or clarification on legal terminology, these reference resources will guide you to the information you need.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [Electronic]Online searchable encyclopedia containing peer reviewed articles in international law.
- Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law [Electronic]Publication Date: 2009
- International Encyclopedia of Laws -- Intellectual Property [Electronic]provides detailed overviews of IP laws across jurisdictions, covering patents, trademarks, copyrights, and international agreements. It’s a valuable resource for comparing global IP frameworks and legal standards.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Legal History [Electronic]Articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.
- Elgar Encyclopedia of International Environmental Law [Electronic]Summaries of concepts and terms of international economic law, grouped into four parts: Foundations and Architecture, Principles, Main Regulatory Areas, and Cross-cutting Challenges. Each entry is written by an expert in the field and includes a bibliography for further reading.
- Oxford Bibliographies in International Law [Electronic]A growing and frequently updated collection of annotated bibliographies on topics in international law. The annotations are written by subject experts and reviewed by scholars in the field.
Deciphering Abbreviations and Citations
- The BlueBook [Print]Covers treaties, UN Documents, international court decisions, and other international materials. For foreign jurisdictions, see online-only Table 2.
- Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations [Print]A detailed reference for legal abbreviations, providing full names and meanings for abbreviations across U.S. and international legal texts.
- Cardiff index to legal abbreviations [Electronic]"...search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A selection of major foreign language law publications is also included"
- Global Studies Law Review: International Citation Manual [Electronic]From Washing ton university. Offering citation and abbreviation formats for legal publications from jurisdictions less commonly included in standard resources.
- Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations [Electronic]From NYU School of law. Covers citations rules and formats for over 40 countries, as well international organizations, and specialized tribunals.
Other Research Guides
- Globalex [Electronic]A collection of guides to foreign and international legal materials. From NYU law school.
- International Law Guides [Electronic]LLRX.com Resource Center
International Legal Research in a Nutshell [Print]Publication Date: 2021