Began in 2002, every volume of this series is comprised of: A brief history of the topic. Lengthy and sophisticated analysis of the current state of law on that topic. A bibliographical essay that organizes and evaluates scholarly material in order to facilitate further research. A table of cases, and index. Upon completion, the series will consist of 37 books dealing with major topics such as Federalism, Privileges and Immunities, Due Process, Freedom of the Press, Presidential Powers, and State Sovereign Immunity, to mention just a few. [Publisher's note.]

edited by Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L. Karst
6 volumes, 2nd ed. (2000)

edited by Mark Tushnet, Mark A. Graber, and Sanford Levinson
The Oxford Handbook of the U.S. Constitution offers a comprehensive overview and introduction to the U.S. Constitution from the perspectives of history, political science, law, rights, and constitutional themes, while focusing on its development, structures, rights, and role in the U.S. political system and culture. This Handbook enables readers within and beyond the U.S. to develop a critical comprehension of the literature on the Constitution, along with accessible and up-to-date analysis. The historical essays included in this Handbook cover the Constitution from 1620 right through the Reagan Revolution to the present.
Also available online on Oxford Handbooks Online.

by William J. Rich
Legal treatise providing analysis of modern constitutional law. Issues covered include first amendment, freedom of religion, civil and contractual rights, criminal justice, due process, federalism, separation of powers, and voting rights.
Also available on Westlaw.

by Ronald D. Rotunda and John E. Nowak
Legal treatise providing analysis of every area of federal constitutional law. Issues include sources of national authority, commerce clause, equal protection, individual liberties, international affairs, congressional enforcement of civil rights, naturalization and citizenship, constitutional construction and interpretation.
Also available on Westlaw as: Rotunda and Nowak's Treatise on Constitutional Law-Substance and Procedure.

by Laurence H. Tribe
This treatise on constitutional law is organized around issues, or constitutional functions. It concentrates on the Constitution's provisions for government structure and on how constitutional structure helps guarantee protection of substantive rights and liberties.

by Sotirios A. Barber and James E. Fleming
Examines the fundamental inquiries that arise in interpreting constitutional law. Systematically critiquing the competing approaches of interpretation - textualism, consensualism, originalism, structuralism, doctrinalism, minimalism, and pragmatism. While taking Ronald Dworkin's position that fidelity in interpreting the Constitution as written calls for a fusion of constitutional law and moral philosophy.

by Erwin Chemerinsky
7th ed. (2023)
Relied on by students, professors, and practitioners, Erwin Chemerinsky’s popular treatise clearly states the law and identifies the underlying policy issues in each area of constitutional law. Thorough coverage of the topic makes it appropriate for both beginning and advanced courses. [Publisher's note]

by Ralph C. Chandler, Richard A. Enslen, Peter G. Renstrom
The Deskbook covers cases concerning the First, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Eighth Amendments, as well as those dealing with Equal Protection, and privacy. Combines all of the fundamental ideas and elements of the law as it relates to individual rights.
Also available on Westlaw.

by Lee Epstein, Kevin T. McGuire and Thomas G. Walker
12th ed. (2025)
In Constitutional Law for a Changing America: Rights, Liberties, and Justice, bestselling authors Lee Epstein, Kevin T. McGuire, and Thomas G. Walker show students how political factors influence judicial decisions and shape the development of constitutional law. The Twelfth Edition, updated with additional material such as recent court rulings, more than 500 supplemental cases, and greater coverage of freedom of expression, will facilitate a deeper understanding of how the U.S. Constitution protects civil rights and liberties. [Publisher's note]

by David L. Hudson, Jr.
This work provides both nonattorneys (law students, clients, academics) and attorneys with a focused and coherent review of the evolution of free speech rights in the United States. Helpful appendix at the end of the book with synopses of the landmark Supreme Court decisions on free speech. [Publisher's note]
Available on Westlaw.

by Shelley L. Dowling
A comprehensive annotated bibliography identifies and describes more than 800 documentary collections, treatises, textbooks, articles and electronic resources bearing on the U.S. Constitutional interpretation.
Also available online on HeinOnline Spinelli's Law Library Reference Shelf.

by Rodney A. Smolla and Melville B. Nimmer
Provides in-depth coverage and expert analysis of free speech and free press First Amendment issues, including history, theory, doctrine, and insights into cases and decisions. [Publisher's note]
Available on Westlaw.

The Historical Dictionary of the U.S. Constitution contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced entries on key figures in the Founding, Supreme Court chief justices, explanations of the Articles and Amendments to the Constitution, and key Supreme Court cases. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the U.S. Constitution. [Publisher's note]
by Richard Steven Conley

by Neil H. Cogan
2nd ed. (2016)
The fundamental, inalienable rights and privileges set forth in the Bill of Rights represent the very foundations of American liberty. The Complete Bill of Rights is a documentary record of the process by which these rights and privileges were defined and recorded as law.
Arranged in chronological order, the work presents each clause in its finished form, and traces its development from its proposal through drafting through adoption. Cogan presents every draft of the text and every documentary source, including state convention proposals, state, colonial, and English constitutional texts, sources in caselaw and treatises, and State and Colonial statutory and decisional law.
The Complete Bill of Rights is the only comprehensive collection of texts essential to understanding the Bill of Rights. Organized in an accessible and practical manner, it is an invaluable tool for law students, judges, lawyers, and law clerks, as well as scholars of the law, history, and political science. [Publisher's note]