General Treatises
- Couch on Insurance 3d byPublication Date: 2023Available on Westlaw Precision to Law School affiliates.
- New Appleman Insurance Law Practice GuideCall Number: KF1164 .A77
Wisconsin Specific Treatises
- Anderson on Wisconsin Insurance Law, 9th Edition byCall Number: KFW2585 .A95 2023 (Reserve Collection)Publication Date: 2023Also available on Books Unbound.
Casebooks, Nutshells, and Study Materials
Insurance Law: A Guide to Fundamental Principles, Legal Doctrines, and Commercial Practices by Call Number: KF1164 .K376 2017Publication Date: 2017
Insurance Law in a Nutshell, 6th Edition by Call Number: KF1164.85 .F74 2022 (Reserve Collection)Publication Date: 2022Earlier editions are available in the stacks for longer loan periods.
Understanding Insurance Law by Call Number: KF1164 .J47 2018 (Reserve Collection)Publication Date: 2018
Medical Liability in a Nutshell by
Reliable source on medical liability law. Written by experts in the field, this Nutshell offers insight on establishing professional relationships and examines negligence-based claims, intentional torts, causation, damages, affirmative defenses, limitations, immunities, and liabilities. It also provides an overview of medical care liability issues affecting hospitals and managed care organizations.
Call Number: KF2905.3 .B686 2024 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 9798887861494Publication Date: 2024-03-26
General Books
Fundamentals of Insurance Regulation by
Providing an explanation of the complex state-based regulatory system that governs the insurance industry in the United States, this book presents the applicable statutes, regulations, and judicial decisions, as well as information about the industry's products, procedures, and performance.
Call Number: KF1167 .G84 2017Publication Date: 2018- Insurance Law for Common Interest Communities by This book examines insurance-related topics involving common interest communities. It discusses and analyzes statutes, court decisions, and policies on those topics and more. It is intended for use by attorneys who represent common interest communities, community association managers, insurance producers, and common interest community boards.Call Number: KF1212.C6 S46 2023 (New Book Shelf)Publication Date: 2023
Health Insurance
Includes materials on Medicare and Medicaid.
Administrative Law of Health Care in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell addresses the administrative law governing the financing and delivery of health care. Administrative law governs the administrative operations of government agencies. It sets the powers that administrative agencies may exercise, establishes the legal principles governing the exercise of those powers, and provides legal remedies to those aggrieved by the actions of agencies. State and federal agencies are deeply involved in the financing and delivery of health care. They address public health, licensure of professionals and facilities and financing health care services through public health insurance programs. The reach of administrative law governing state and federal healthcare agencies is immense and immensely important to the financing and delivery of American health care.
Call Number: KF3821 .K566 2017 (Reserve Collection)Publication Date: 2016
Healthism: Health-Status Discrimination and the Law by
Can an employer refuse to hire someone who tests positive for nicotine or alcohol? Can an airline or movie theatre require overweight customers to purchase two seats? Can a health insurance company refuse to sell policies to those most in need of medical care? Can the government condition public assistance on wellness program participation or work activity? In this illuminating book, Jessica L. Roberts and Elizabeth Weeks consider these and similar questions, offering readers a nuanced analysis of when and why discrimination based on health status - or 'healthism' - should be allowed, and when it should not. They provide a methodology to distinguish desirable health-based classifications from the undesirable, and propose law and policy solutions to encourage the former and limit the latter. This work should be read by anyone concerned with how government does - and does not - regulate based on health.
Call Number: KF3605 .R63 2018Publication Date: 2018
Health Law by
Expert authors present an up-to-date overview of health law as it affects the professionals, institutions, and entities that deliver and finance health care in the United States. Considers the law's response to quality and error through institutional and professional regulation, and malpractice litigation against professionals, hospitals, and managed care organizations.
Call Number: KF3821 H4343 2015Publication Date: 2014
Medicaid Politics and Policy by
The story of Medicaid comes alive for readers in this strong narrative, including detailed accounts of important policy changes and extensive use of interviews. This second edition features a new preface, three new chapters accounting for the changes to the Affordable Care Act, and an updated glossary.
Call Number: RA412.4 .S55 2015Publication Date: 2015
Life Insurance
The Insurance Counselor Federal Gift, Estate, and Generation-Skipping Transfer Taxation of Life Insurance by Call Number: KF6588 Z9 F43 2012Publication Date: 2016- Understanding Life Insurance and Rethinking Policy Management and Evaluation byCall Number: KF1175 .F56 2020Publication Date: 2020
Automobile Insurance
The Handbook on Additional Insureds by Call Number: KF1170.A33 H36 2012ISBN: 9781614381594Publication Date: 2013- Ridesharing Law and Liability by This book can serve as a resource to the practitioner who is examining both the liability and regulatory issues surrounding ridesharing companies.Call Number: K4042 .R53 2020Publication Date: 2021
Property Insurance
The Commercial Property Insurance Policy Deskbook by Call Number: KF1190 .Z35 2018Publication Date: 2019
Property Insurance Litigator's Handbook, Third Edition by Call Number: KF1190 .P76 2022Publication Date: 2022
Title Insurance: A Comprehensive Overview of the Law and Coverage by Call Number: KF1234 .G67 2022Publication Date: 2022
Insurance Fraud
The Insurance Fraud Deskbook by Publication Date: 2015
Liability Insurance
- Directors and Officers Liability Insurance Deskbook by The Deskbook is designed as a practical reference tool for practitioners of directors and officers (D&O) liability and coverage.Call Number: KF1220.E83 D5724 2020Publication Date: 2021
- Insurance Law for Common Interest Communities by This book examines insurance-related topics involving common interest communities. It discusses and analyzes statutes, court decisions, and policies on those topics and more. It is intended for use by attorneys who represent common interest communities, community association managers, insurance producers, and common interest community boards.Call Number: KF1212.C6 S46 2023 (New Book Shelf)Publication Date: 2023
The Law of Indemnification and Its Interplay with Liability Insurance by Call Number: KF1215 .L39 2019Publication Date: 2020
The Reference Handbook on the Commercial General Liability Policy, Third Edition by Call Number: KF1215 .R44 2023Publication Date: 2023- Restatement of the Law, Liability Insurance, As Adopted and Promulgated by the American Law Institute at Washington D.C., May 22, 2018 byCall Number: Ref KF395.A2 .L5 2019 (Law Reference)Publication Date: 2019Latest pocket part from 2023.
Cyber Insurance and Cybersecurity
The ABA Cybersecurity Handbook by
Contains chapter: "Cyber insurance for law firms and legal organizations" by Kevin P. Kalinich and Tom Ricketts
Call Number: KF318 .A7518 2022Publication Date: 2022
A Practical Guide to Cyber Insurance for Businesses by Call Number: KF1189.5 .P72 2022Publication Date: 2022- Protecting Against Cyber Threats: A Lawyer's Guide to Choosing a Cyber Liability Insurance Policy byCall Number: KF320.I56 P76 2019Publication Date: 2019
Weather-Specific Insurance
A Legal Guide to Recovering for Flood Losses by Call Number: KF1202.F5 M33 2023Publication Date: 2023- Meeting the Legal Needs of Disaster Survivors by "This book is the latest development in YLDs efforts. The ten essays included here range from overviews of the need for pro bono disaster legal assistance and the roles of the organized bar and civil legal services providers in meeting it to informative, nut-and-bolts guides to specific issues in disaster legal aid-such as navigating flood insurance claims, dealing with post-disaster housing and tax issues, and understanding the specific needs of vulnerable populations. This volume is a valuable resource for the entire disaster response community-and the latest of many contributions from a leader of that community, the ABA Young Lawyers Division"Call Number: KF3750.A75 M44 2021Publication Date: 2021
Insurance-Like Bonds
- The Contract Bond Surety's Subrogation Rights byCall Number: KF1045 A75 C66 2013Publication Date: 2013
The Law of Commercial Surety and Miscellaneous Bonds by Call Number: KF1225 .L39 2022Publication Date: 2022
Insurance Regulation and Policy
- Fundamentals of Insurance Regulation by
Providing an explanation of the complex state-based regulatory system that governs the insurance industry in the United States, this book presents the applicable statutes, regulations, and judicial decisions, as well as information about the industry's products, procedures, and performance.
Call Number: KF1167 .G84 2017Publication Date: 2018
Regulating the Business of Insurance in a Federal System by Call Number: KF1164 Z56 2010Publication Date: 2010
U.S. Insurance Regulation: A Primer by Call Number: KF1164.85 .L57 2023ISBN: 9781035314782Publication Date: 2023
