- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- AFRICAN 201: Introduction to African Literature (Fall 2023)
- Writing and Citing Resources
AFRICAN 201: Introduction to African Literature (Fall 2023) : Writing and Citing Resources
Scope Note
First and foremost, when you have to write a paper of any kind, ask the professor how you should cite your sources. While some professors are relaxed about citations and just want mention of the author, book, date, and page, many professors prefer a standardized method for creating a bibliography. There are many citation styles including, but not limited to: MLA, Chicago, Harvard, APA, and Turabian.
Citations and Bibliographies
- Citing Sources Research GuideResources and examples for citing sources according to various citation styles including APA and MLA styles.
- Citation ManagersCitation Managers are software applications that you can use to gather references automatically from article databases, create a personal research database of references and documents. and format citations and bibliographies instantly in a variety of styles in your paper.
Writing Help
- Writing CenterThe Writing Center provides individual writing assistance to students by appointment at their main location in Helen C. White or by drop in hours at 8 satellite locations across campus, as well as online.
- Writer's HandbookThe Writer's Handbook was designed by the Writing Center as an online help guide to writing papers in college. The Handbook discusses how to improve your writing style, common college writing assignments, the stages of writing, grammar and punctuation, and how to cite references.
