Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Specialty Boards Reading List : Dentistry and Oromaxillofacial Surgery (AVDC)

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow  Find It at UW button  (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

  • access online full text (when available)
  • see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
  • request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

AVDC Disclaimer

American Veterinary Dental College (AVDC) Reading List

This is only a convenience copy of the AVDC reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries.  It does not replace the official AVDC reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest AVDC reading list.

Access to Reading Materials

You have free access through the UW-Madison Libraries’ subscriptions to nearly any journal/article you will need. If you are on campus or using the campus VPN, you will often see a note on publishers’ websites that says ‘Access Provided by UW-Madison’. If you see this note, you will not be prompted for payment to get the full text of an article.  If this note isn't present and you encounter a paywall, you will likely still be able to get access through the UW-Madison Libraries. You may need to search for the article in a library database in order to find it or request a copy via ILL. 

Note: Increasingly journals are offering free and legal access to some or all of the articles they publish. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in, once you have graduated and no longer have access to UW-Madison Libraries’ collections. 

American Veterinary Dental College (AVDC) Reading List

Anatomy | Anesthesia and Analgesia | Dental Materials | Endodontics | Equine Dentistry | Equine Medicine | Orthodontics | Pathology | Periodontology | Radiology | Restorative Dentistry / Prosthodontics | Surgery | Veterinary Dentistry | Journals

Books

Anatomy

Anesthesia and Analgesia

Dental Materials

Endodontics

Equine Dentistry

Equine Medicine

Orthodontics

Pathology

Periodontology

Radiology

Restorative Dentistry / Prosthodontics

Surgery

Veterinary Dentistry

Journals and Periodicals

Other suggested journals

Anatomy | Anesthesia | Dental Materials | Embryology | Endodontics | Equine | Exotics | Orthodontics | Pathology | Periodontology | Radiology | Restorative Dentistry / Prosthodontics | Surgery | Small Animal Dentistry | Journals

Books

Anatomy

Anesthesia

Dental Materials

Embryology

Endodontics

Equine

Exotics

Orthodontics

Pathology

Periodontology

Radiology

Restorative Dental/Prosthodontics

Surgery

Small Animal Dentistry

Journals and Periodicals

Other suggested journals

This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American Veterinary Dental College (AVDC) examination.

Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.

Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.

From the AVDC Suggested Reading List:

"The following list is provided as suggested reading material. It is not all inclusive of every potential reference and publication, because the body of scientific literature is fluid and always changing. No attempt is made to restrict examination questions to the material in these references. The examination reflects the current state of knowledge in veterinary dentistry rather than material from a particular group of references. Much of veterinary dental knowledge has been derived from human dentistry. This is reflected in the suggested reading list and will also be reflected in the examination itself."

Source:  AVDC Examination Information for Candidates

This resource updated: 04/26/2022

Textbooks updated to most recent edition: 04/26/2022

Source reading list reviewed: 04/26/2022

Source reading list updated by specialty board: 02/2022

CC-BY

This guide was created from a template maintained by the Ohio State University Libraries and the Texas A&M University School of Veterinary Medicine & Biological Sciences. You can access the template at https://guides.osu.edu/VetBoardLists/. The template is licensed under creative commons, non-commercial use, share-alike, adaptations allowed. 

Get Help from Bioscience Team

Bioscience Team | Science & Engineering Libraries

 AskSEL@library.wisc.edu

 Schedule a consultation (via Zoom)

Emma Bekele | Steenbock Library

Jessica Newman | Steenbock Library

Barb Sisolak | Steenbock Library

Angel Tang | Steenbock Library