Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Specialty Boards Reading List : Critical Care and Emergency (ACVECC)

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow  Find It at UW button  (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

  • access online full text (when available)
  • see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
  • request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

ACVECC Disclaimer

American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) Reading List

This is only a convenience copy of the ACVECC reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries.  It does not replace the official ACVECC reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ACVECC reading list.

Access to Reading Materials

You have free access through the UW-Madison Libraries’ subscriptions to nearly any journal/article you will need. If you are on campus or using the campus VPN, you will often see a note on publishers’ websites that says ‘Access Provided by UW-Madison’. If you see this note, you will not be prompted for payment to get the full text of an article.  If this note isn't present and you encounter a paywall, you will likely still be able to get access through the UW-Madison Libraries. You may need to search for the article in a library database in order to find it or request a copy via ILL. 

Note: Increasingly journals are offering free and legal access to some or all of the articles they publish. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in, once you have graduated and no longer have access to UW-Madison Libraries’ collections. 

American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) Reading List

LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings

Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Clinical Pathology | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Imaging | Infectious Disease | Internal Medicine | Hematology and Transfusion Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Nutrition | Oncology | Ophthalmology | Pediatrics | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology

Anesthesia

Cardiovascular

Clinical Pathology

Emergency/Critical Care

Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte

Imaging

Infectious Disease

Internal Medicine

Hematology and Transfusion Medicine

Mechanical Ventilation

Medical Physiology

Neurology

Nutrition

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Surgery

Toxicology

LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings

Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Imaging | Infectious Disease | Internal Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Ophthalmology | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology

Anesthesia

Cardiovascular

Coagulation

Emergency/Critical Care

Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte

Imaging

Infectious Disease

Internal Medicine

Mechanical Ventilation

Medical Physiology

Neurology

Ophthalmology

Pharmacology

Surgery

Toxicology

This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually.

Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes | Anesthesia/Analgesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine | Endocrine | Environmental/Toxic | Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas | Hepatobiliary | Immunology/Hemolymphatic | Integument | Musculoskeletal | Neurology/Special Senses | Nutrition | Renal/Urinary | Reproductive | Respiratory | Sepsis/SIRS/MODS | Shock/Ischemia/CPCR | Trauma

Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes

Anesthesia/Analgesia

Cardiovascular

Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine

Endocrine

Environmental/Toxic

Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas

Hepatobiliary

Immunology/Hemolymphatic

Integument

Musculoskeletal

None.

Neurology/Special Senses

Nutrition

Renal/Urinary

Reproductive

Respiratory

Sepsis/SIRS/MODS

Shock/Ischemia/CPCR

Trauma

The links below take you to the resources at the publishers' websites, which might prompt you for payment.  Your library might be able to provide these resources at comparatively lower or no cost to you. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in.  Open access copies of articles that are freely available are marked below with .

 

"This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually. Large animal candidates should appreciate that the majority of these articles are non-species specific and shared with small animal candidates. This means that they can be used for questions on the general multiple-choice exam."

 

Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes | Anesthesia/Analgesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine | Endocrine | Environmental/Toxic | Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas | Hepatobiliary | Immunology/Hemolymphatic | Integument | Musculoskeletal | Neurology/Special Senses | Nutrition | Renal/Urinary | Reproductive | Respiratory | Sepsis/SIRS/MODS | Shock/Ischemia/CPCR

Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes

Anesthesia/Analgesia

Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine

Cardiovascular

Endocrine

Environmental/Toxic

Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas

Hepatobiliary

Immunology/Hemolymphatic

Integument

Musculoskeletal

Neurology/Special Senses

Nutrition

Renal/Urinary

Reproductive

Respiratory

Sepsis/SIRS/MODS

Shock/Ischemia/CPCR

This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) examination.

ACVECC Knowledge List 2018

Source:  ACVECC Recommended Reading Lists, American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care

This resource updated: 3/3/2022

Textbooks updated to most recent edition: 3/3/2022

Source reading list reviewed: 3/3/2022

Source reading list updated by specialty board: 12/14/2017

CC-BY

This guide was created from a template maintained by the Ohio State University Libraries and the Texas A&M University School of Veterinary Medicine & Biological Sciences. You can access the template at https://guides.osu.edu/VetBoardLists/. The template is licensed under creative commons, non-commercial use, share-alike, adaptations allowed. 

Get Help from Bioscience Team

Bioscience Team | Science & Engineering Libraries

 AskSEL@library.wisc.edu

 Schedule a consultation (via Zoom)

Emma Bekele | Steenbock Library

Jessica Newman | Steenbock Library

Barb Sisolak | Steenbock Library

Angel Tang | Steenbock Library