JEWISH 350: What is Jewish Studies? (Spring 2024) : Find Articles
Locating Article Databases
You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the Catalog drop-down menu button to navigate to Databases.
- Browse By Subject/TypeOrganization of databases by subject or discipline and source type
- Introductory DatabasesShort list of databases by subject
- Top 10 Databases10 most popular databases
- UW Libraries Search Box – Dropdown OptionsOptions allow searching a subset of the Libraries' resources (books, articles, journals, etc.)
Subject-Specific Databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerialsIndex to literature in the fields of religious studies and theology, including journal articles, essays, and book reviews.
- Index to Jewish PeriodicalsIndex to English language Jewish Studies journals published in the United States, Canada, England, Israel, South Africa, and Australia.
- RAMBI: index of Articles on Jewish StudiesIndex to articles and books in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, covering various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Israel mainly from the Jewish National and University Library. Note: There is no Find It button. The "Open URL" or "Online access" links may not take you to full text. You may need to search for the journal title or book title in the Library Catalog to check if the library has acces.
- More Ethnic Studies: Jewish Studies DatabasesClick "Jewish Studies" in the page. A list of Jewish Studies datatabases is located under Ethnic Studies in the Browse by Subject/Type menu of databases on the library website.
Multi-Subject Databases
- JSTORArchive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title). Can refine results by Subject to bring up articles from journals related to specific disciplines.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a general academic index with almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
- Articles SearchSearch across multiple databases at once. Search includes some but not all databases. Use options at top of search results page to refine a search.
- Google ScholarScholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, books, and reports from all broad areas of research. Be sure to access from library website or this page so you can link to full-text through library subscriptions. Not everything included is scholarly or academic.
Search Tips
- Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order.
- Jews AND Diaspora
- Use OR to combine similar words to find either of the words
- galut OR exile
- Use quotation marks to find words as a phrase
- "Jewish Diaspora"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied ends of words .
- Jew* will find Jew, Jews, Jewish
- Review Subjects to identify additional and useful search terms.
- Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, or other).
More tips:
Getting to the Full Article
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access the full article (when available)
- determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)
If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.