Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
Wisconsin Statutes (code)
Codes contain all statutes currently in force in a jurisdiction at the time of publication and are arranged topically. In WI, the official code is the Wisconsin Statutes. The Wisconsin Statutes Annotated is an unofficial code.
- Wisconsin Statutes (official print)This is the official edition printed by the State of Wisconsin.
Coverage: Current edition only. - West’s Wisconsin Statutes Annotated (print)This set contains additional annotations prepared by the publisher. Kept up to date by revised volumes, pocket parts, and West’s Wisconsin legislative service.
Coverage: Current edition only (plus changes from the current legislative session in West’s Wisconsin legislative service). - Wisconsin Statutes (online)The Wisconsin Legislature has made the complete Wisconsin Statutes available on its website. They are updated to reflect changes from the current legislative session. Also contains an archive of superseded editions.
Coverage: 1969 - current edition (plus changes from current legislative session).
Note: older years may be available - try changing the year in the URL - LexisNexis (online)LexisNexis has the current and superseded editions of the Wisconsin Statutes.
Coverage: 1989 - current edition. - Westlaw (online)Westlaw has the current edition of the Wisconsin Statutes and the current and superseded editions of West's Wisconsin Statutes Annotated.
Coverage: 1989 - current edition. - Hein Online State Statutes Historical Archive Library (online)Superseded state statutes for all fifty states. Search the statutes by state, date, description and text.
Coverage: 1717 - ; for WI 1839 - 1957 - West’s Wisconsin Statutes Annotated, Superseded (microform)The collection of superseded state codes is available on microfiche.
Coverage: 1957 - legislative session prior to the current edition.
Session Laws
When a law is enacted, it is assigned a sequential act number and printed in slip form (called a slip law).
After the legislative session ends, acts passed during that session are printed chronologically in the session laws. In WI, the session laws are called the Laws of Wisconsin.
- Laws of Wisconsin (print)This is the official edition printed by the State of Wisconsin.
Coverage: 1848 - current edition - Wisconsin Acts (online)The Wisconsin Legislature publishes acts from the current session along with an archive of acts from prior sessions.
Coverage: 1957 - current (continuously updated)
Note: older years may be available - try changing the year in the URL - HeinOnline Session Laws Library (online)HeinOnline publishes the complete session laws for Wisconsin and all other states.
Coverage: 1836-legislative session prior to the current edition; Including the Territory of Wisconsin (1836-1848) - Westlaw (online)Westlaw's Wisconsin Enacted Legislation and Wisconsin Historical Enacted Legislation libraries contains acts and enrolled joint resolutions passed by the Wisconsin Legislature.
Coverage: 1988 - current
Legislatively Mandated Reports
- Legislatively Mandated Reports (online)This collection from the LRB Digital Collections series contains reports that the Wisconsin Statutes mandate state agencies provide to the legislature on the progress, status, or results of a specific program or initiative.
Coverage: 1999 - current