What explains the explosive growth of school vouchers in the last two decades? In America's Voucher Politics, Ursula Hackett shows that the voucher movement is rooted in America's foundational struggles over religion, race, and the role of government versus the private sector. Drawing upon original datasets, archival materials, and more than one hundred interviews, Hackett shows that policymakers and political advocates use strategic policy design and rhetoric to hide the role of the state when their policy goals become legally controversial. For over sixty years of voucher litigation, white supremacists, accommodationists, and individualists have deployed this strategy of attenuated governance in court. By learning from previous mistakes and anticipating downstream effects, policymakers can avoid painful defeats, gain a secure legal footing, and entrench their policy commitments despite the surging power of rivals. An ideal case study, education policy reflects multiple axes of conflict in American politics and demonstrates how policy learning unfolds over time.
Provides in-depth legal analysis regarding issues that directly affect the operation of schools. Another feature of each issue is the Clearinghouse, a digest of recent state and federal court decisions and state attorney generals’ opinions in the area of school law.
Contains analyses of the previous year's federal and state court decisions that affect private and public elementary and secondary schools and higher education.
Published by the Education Law Association.
Available electronically through the link in the MadCat record.
West's Education Law Digest is a subject index to case law. It is arranged alphabetically by topic, with each divided into subtopics. The digest includes cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Courts of Appeal, U.S. District Courts, and state appellate courts. Important cases are summarized, with citations to the full opinions. There are also references to Corpus Jurus Secundum, West's legal encyclopedia. A companion series, West's Education Law Reporter, includes the full-text cases.
Use the "Words and Phrases" volumes to find individual decisions. Use the Descriptive-Word Index to find Digest Topics and Key Numbers. Coverage: 1981-present. Not kept up to date after 2015.
Published by the Education Law Association, this monthly digest summarizes cases arranged by subject. Coverage includes the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Courts of Appeal, U.S. District Courts, and state appellate courts.
This book provides detailed analysis of Supreme Court judgments which have impacted the rights of minorities in relation to higher education, and so illustrates ongoing issues of racial discrimination throughout the American education sector. Race, Law, and Higher Education in the Colorblind Era brings together the many racial disputes that have been adjudicated by the Supreme Court to investigate the politics of colorblindness in the post-civil rights era. Through a reading of these various cases as a form of continuing racial discourse, this book focuses on the ways in which racial disputes operate within a clearly entwined colorblind narrative that invalidates racial justice for minorities. By investigating how the Supreme Court has understood racism and the concept of race across its history, this volume demonstrates how colleges and universities must navigate the often contradictory and perilous landscape of 'diversity' in attempts to integrate historically disadvantaged minorities. This book will be of interest to researchers, academics, and postgraduate students in the fields of sociology of education, multicultural education, and legal education.
Call Number: Books at JSTOR eBooks (UW-Madison Shared)
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
The Clinical Legal Education Handbook is a practical resource and guide for those engaged in the design and delivery of clinical legal education programs at university law schools. The Handbook offers direction on how to establish and run student law clinics, sets out guidance on both the pedagogical and regulatory considerations involved in the delivery of clinical programs, and introduces the existing body of research and scholarship on Clinical Legal Education (CLE). CLE has become an increasingly popular method of legal education in recent years. By the end of 2013 at least 70% of all law schools in the United Kingdom were delivering some type of CLE, and 25% of these offered credit-bearing CLE programs. It is almost certain that this number will increase in the years to come with the advent of the forthcoming Solicitors' Qualifying Examination, which will allow time spent volunteering in a student law clinic to count as "qualifying work experience." However, despite the popularity of CLE, there is currently very little information available about the best practices for setting up and delivering these programs. The Handbook seeks to remedy this gap, offering an invaluable resource to staff involved in running law clinics, both as a practical guide to establishing and running their programs and as a teaching resource and recommended text on clinical programs. It will also act as a resource for clinical legal education researchers who wish to engage in regulatory, pedagogic, and legal service delivery research in this area.