Most of the databases listed focus on information in the field of medicine and science. For law related journals see the tab for electronic resources/journals. Scroll over the database link to view a description of individual databases.
Put out by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, this database includes over 19 million citations (many have links to full text articles) pulled from MedLine and other health sciences journals.
"The Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA) is the leading patient-directed national organization focusing on the most prevalent mental illnesses. The organization fosters an environment of understanding about the impact and management of these life-threatening illnesses by providing up-to-date, scientifically based tools and information written in language the general public can understand."
This website provides information regarding how forensic psychiatrists and medical experts can work together to assist individuals and institutions, plaintiffs and defendants, attorneys, federal agencies, and the courts.
In downloadable pdf format, this resource provides information about state level mental health parity laws addressing the type of law, affected policies, covered conditions, and links to additional information
"The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery and cure. For the Institute to continue fulfilling this vital public health mission, it must foster innovative thinking and ensure that a full array of novel scientific perspectives are used to further discovery in the evolving science of brain, behavior, and experience."
"Mental Health America's programs help it to fulfill its mission of 'promoting mental health, preventing mental disorders and achieving victory over mental illness through advocacy, education, research and services.' The goals of our programs are to educate the public, encourage reform and promote the use of effective local and regional prevention and recovery programs."
"The Treatment Advocacy Center promotes laws, policies, and practices for the delivery of psychiatric care and supports the development of innovative treatments for and research into the causes of severe and persistent psychiatric illnesses, such as schizophrenia and bipolar disorder."