Research Guides: In-person research at Wisconsin Historical Society: Digital Resources

Get Started

Use these databases to find secondary source articles:

America: History & Life
America : History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. Books and dissertations are included.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (See America: History and Life for U.S. and Canadian coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. It lists articles covering the years 1450 to the present, including more than 2600 periodicals published in 90 countries in 40 languages.
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago

Further Research

Explore these databases provided by the UW-Madison Libraries for more primary and secondary sources:

About Digital Resources

This page suggests several databases and digital archives that have primary and secondary sources useful for your project. Most of the databases suggested are only accessible in the Wisconsin Historical Society or other UW-Madison Libraries. Be sure to save PDFs of anything you find to a Google drive, flashdrive, or other place you can access after you leave the library.

Open Access Digital Sources

Find photographs, sound recordings, and more in these databases that are always free and open to access from anywhere:

Wisconsin Historical Images
Over 90,000 images digitized from the Wisconsin Historical Society archives.
Wisconsin Historical Society Online Collections
Browse digitized collections from the Wisconsin Historical Society.

In-person research at Wisconsin Historical Society : Digital Resources

Get Started

Further Research

About Digital Resources

Open Access Digital Sources