Chemical & Biological Engineering (CBE) : Research Support

Graduate Orientation Guide

Searching Databases

You can access databases from the library home page. Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases. We subscribe to many databases that index scientific literature.

There are several ways to access databases:

1) Search by the title of the database (for example, 'PubMed')

2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic

3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to access commonly used databases.

The databases listed below are popular starting points for most science topics:

Google Scholar
Accessing Google Scholar (a free public resource) through our link will help you bypass paywalls.
PubMed
Accessing PubMed (a free public database) through our link will help you bypass paywalls.
Scopus
Large, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Web of Science
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.

Research Assistance from Steenbock/SEL Librarians

UW-Madison librarians provide support during each phase of the research life cycle. How can we help you to achieve your research goals? Contact us to start the conversation.

Research Support, UW-Madison Libraries:

Planning Your Research Project
Collecting, Organizing, and Analyzing Data and Information
Publishing, Sharing and Communicating Your Research
Managing, Storing, and Preserving Research Data and Publications
Tracking, Measuring and Analyzing Impact

UW-Madison Research Data Services (RDS) Resources

UW-Madison Research Data Services (RDS) can help you learn how to efficiently curate and share your data and code. RDS is an interdisciplinary organization committed to advancing research data management practice on the UW-Madison campus, with a focus on providing researchers with the tools and resources that support their efforts to store, analyze and share data.

Here are some selected links from the RDS website to get you started:

Laboratory Protocols & Methods

The UW-Madison Libraries provide access to many collections of published laboratory protocols and methods.

Visit our Laboratory Protocols & Methods research guide to learn more

Citation Managers

Citation Managers such as EndNote, EndNote Basic, Mendeley, or Zotero are software tools for managing your citations. Citation Managers will help you:

Create and organize a personal research database
Download citations from online databases
Format bibliographies and citations in papers
Share your citations with others

Study, Meeting, Presentation and Event Spaces

You can reserve space at Steenbock Library for meetings, presentations, events,and studying.

Please see our list of available spaces to reserve.

Laptops, Equipment and More

You can check out equipment from the UW-Madison Libraries, including laptops, cameras, calculators, and more (even a button maker!). Here's a list of equipment for check out at Steenbock Library.

We also have computer labs with a large selection of software.