LIS 461: Data and Algorithms: Ethics and Policy (Spring 2024) : Find Articles
NYTimes.com Access
Access to the NYTimes.com is available through a campus subscription. Registration is required.
- Registering for the New York Times through UW-MadisonThis tutorial explains how current UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff can register for access and create an account through The New York Times Digital: Academic Pass.
WSJ.com Access
Access to the WSJ.com is available through a campus subscription. Registration is required.
- Registering for the Wall Street Journal through UW-MadisonThis tutorial explains how current UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff can register for access and create a WSJ.com account.
News & Newspaper Databases
Library databases may be accessed from anywhere. You may need to login using your NetID.
The Libraries subscribe to a number of databases providing access to articles in many newspapers.
- US NewsstreamCurrent and archival access to U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources, from 1980s to present.
- International NewsstreamCurrent and archival access to news outside of the US and Canada, from 1980s to present. Includes major newspapers such as The Times (London), Financial Times, and The Guardian.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database (covering many subjects) that provides articles from magazines, news sources, and academic journals. Limit your search results to magazines or newspapers to find popular press or newspaper articles.
- Newspaper Source PlusContains full text for major newspapers such as The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) offers access to many news, legal and business sources, including local, regional, national and international newspapers.
- FactivaMany newspapers and other publications. Only 3 users can use the resource at the same time.
Subject-Specific Databases
Library databases may be accessed from anywhere. You may need to login using your NetID.
Scholars working in disciplines often make their research available as articles in discipline-specific journals. This research literature is made accessible through disciplinary or subject-specific databases. Below are databases for disciplines that relate to your course such as computer science, law, philosophy, public policy, and the social sciences. Subject databases usually contain some different articles, so it is often helpful to search more than one database.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's IndexPhilosophy-focused database covering aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of related disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.
- PhilPapers *Index and bibliography of philosophy based on sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. Search syntax is different in this database. Use & instead off the word AND. Use | instead of the word OR.
Law
- HeinOnlineJournal articles and other publications in law field.
Computer Science
- Applied Science & Technology Full TextProvides access to scientific and technical publications in a wide variety of STEM disciplines including artificial intelligence, applied math, plastics, robotics, etc.
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)Covers computing and information technology, including software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, and instructional technology.
Public Policy/Social Sciences
- SocINDEX with Full TextCovers all aspects of sociology and related disciplines.
- PAIS (Public Affairs)Covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesJournal articles and books in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology, from around the world and in many languages.
Multi-Subject Databases
Library databases may be accessed from anywhere. You may need to login using your NetID.
The databases below cover many subjects or disciplines. In Articles Search and Academic Search Premier, you will find both news and academic sources including magazine and newspaper articles and scholarly journal articles. You can limit your results by source types and by date of publication.
- Articles SearchSearch across some of the Library's database subscriptions including many but not all databases listed on this page.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database (covering many subjects) that provides articles from magazines, news sources, and academic journals.
- Google ScholarSearch for scholarly journal articles, books, and reports from all broad areas of research. Be sure to access this database from this page or the Libraries website to link to full text content in library databases through Find It.@UW-Madison links.
- JSTORArchive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title).
Locating Article Databases
The following are different ways to access databases on the Library website for searching for articles:
- Browse By Subject/TypeOrganization of databases by subject or discipline
- Introductory DatabasesShort list of databases by subject
- Top 10 Databases10 most popular databases
- UW Libraries Search Box – Dropdown Options (Tip Sheet)Options allow searching a subset of the Library's resources (books, articles, journals, etc.)
Search Tips
- Identify the key concepts of your topic that you can use as keywords or search terms
- Keywords or search terms will usually be nouns or noun phrases
- Think of synonyms or alternate words for expressing your key concepts or search terms
- Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order - fewer search results
- algorithm AND hiring
- Use OR to combine similar words or synonyms or variations - more search results
- hiring OR recruitment
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search words as a phrase - fewer search results
- "artificial intelligence"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied endings of words and singular and plural forms - more search results
- algorithm* finds alogorithm, alogorithmic, alogorithms
- Look at Subject Terms to find additional keywords and use them to find relevant and specific results.
- Look for an option to limit to by source type on the left side of search results in most databases - fewer search results