CNSR SCI 201: Consumer Insights (Spring 2025) : Consumer Trends

Daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics that provide insights and trends related to digital advertising, marketing, media, and commerce.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

In-depth reports from 2001-present that analyze market size and segmentation, consumer attitudes, and marketing strategies relative to hundreds of consumer products in the United States. Lifestyle reports such as "Green Marketing" and "Spending Habits of the Teen Consumer" are also available. (New reports issued monthly)
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus.

Searchable collection of market and consumer data from wide range of sources: government, NGOs, industry, marketing and trade groups. Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
Access: Use in Grainger Hall only (not wireless). This includes Business Learning Commons, Huber Lab and Finance & Analytics Lab. No remote access is permitted.

WGSN Insight provides bite-sized updates and thought starters, alongside in-depth white papers, videos and podcasts. It is a trend forecasting service that includes what’s new and next in several industries including apparel, beauty, retail, food & beverages, sustainability, travel, technology, and more. The database also provides trends by generations and social media platforms.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, Data Axle Reference Solutions contains directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Market research reports on over 700 different industries in the United States, organized by NAICS code. The reports include key statistics, market segmentation, life cycle, regulation, market share, industry outlook, and more.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Provides company profiles, industry reports, financial deal reports and,country reports. Also contains case studies. Industry profiles include Porter’s Five Forces.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, to assist users to analyze market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus.

Technavio provides over 17,000 marketing research reports for over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus. PDFs of reports must be requested using a “wisc.edu” email address.