LSC 560: Scientific Writing (Fall 2025) : Journals & Article Databases

Browse Journals

BrowZine is available for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. BrowZine lets you browse, read, save, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.

Searching Databases

Selected Multidisciplinary Databases

The databases listed below are popular starting points for most science topics.

Agricultural & Environmental Science
Focused research tool for cross-disciplinary agriculture and environmental sciences research. Discover journals, trade publications, and conference proceedings. Featuring Agricola Index.
CABI: CAB Abstracts
Covers the world of plants and animals including animal and crop production, breeding, environmental impacts, nutrition, and veterinary science.
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources.

Google Scholar is proxied for off-campus use so that the FindIt button appears in results.|| If you go to 'My Library' and sign in, the proxying will no longer be present and off-campus the FindIt button will not appear.|| Off-campus go to Settings/Library Links and search for 'Madison' and select it to see FindIt links.
IEEE Xplore
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines, from journals, proceedings, letters, standards, from 1988 with select content back to 1913.
PubMed/Medline
Covers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
Scopus
Large, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Web of Science
Collection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.

Find Additional Databases

You can access databases from the library home page. Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases.

There are several ways to browse and to select databases:

1) Search by the title of the database (for example, Web of Science).

2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that cover research literature on your topic of interest.

3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to access commonly used databases.

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

access online full text (when available)
see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

Get Full Text with the Bookmarklet

Remote Access Bookmarklet
Set up a library bookmarklet to access articles without going through the Libraries website.