Skip to Main Content

Covidence : Adding Full Text

How to Retrieve Full Text Articles

When you review at the Full Text level, you will need to get the full articles for every reference. 

In Endnote- Select the articles you want to find.  Under References, select Find Full Text to find as many PDFs as you can.  This feature works best on campus.  Then, for articles Endnote does not automatically find, you can type the title of other articles into a database like Scopus, PubMed, Web of Science, or CINAHL and use the Icon for University of Wisconsin-Madison : Find It to get the full article.

In Mendeley- In the citation details, scroll down to the URL area.  If the available URLs do not connect you to the article, you can type the title of other articles into a database like PubMed or CINAHL and use the Icon for University of Wisconsin-Madison : Find It button to find the full article.

Linking Full Text to References

Citations must be in the Full Text level in Covidence for you to add PDFs to them. You can bulk upload PDFs using Endnote or Mendeley.  To manually attach full-text PDFs for your full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
1. Locate and save the PDFs for your articles. Access PDFs from within the database by choosing the Icon for University of Wisconsin-Madison : Find It link. The article will either immediately open for you to download, or you may eed to request a copy from Interlibrary Loan. (See last box)
 
2. Go into the Full Text Screening stage of your Covidence Review.  Select Add full text for the article.
 

Covidence Add Full Text button

3. Locate the PDF on your computer and save.

4. A View full text button will now appear instead of the Add full text button.

View Full Text in Covidence

Endnote Full Text Bulk Upload

To upload and attach full-text PDFs from Endnote for your Covidence full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
From your review's homepage in Covidence, click on Export to go to the Export studies tool.

Export button

  1. Export your Full text reference list from Covidence to EndNote.

Export from Full text review to your citation manager

         2. Download the file from the Recent exports section below your export menu.

Download the file from the Recent Exports section

         3. Import the file into Endnote.

         4. Find the PDFs and attach them to the corresponding reference in your citation manager.  This can be done manually or by using the automated find full text feature in Endnote.

  •    Select the articles from your Full Text file in Endnote.  Under the Reference Menu, select Find Full Text.

References menu

         5. Once you have attached the articles to the citations in your citation manager, select all the articles and export the list of references EndNote XML format

Endnote export option under File menu

Save your article list as an XML file

          6. In the Covidence Full Text Review menu, click on the "Bulk upload PDFs" button.

​​Bulk Upload PDF button in Full Text menu

          7. Click select file and upload the XML file. Once Covidence has processed the list of articles, it will create a table describing the upload.  On the right side of this table, drag and drop a group of PDFs or select the PDF files associated with your references from your computer. This will be easiest if you have stored all of your associated PDFs in one location. 

Drag and drop menu for PDFs

 

  • If you've used an automated find-PDF feature, PDFs will be automatically filed by the reference manager in the Data file for your EndNote library in a folder labeled PDF.
    • EndNote automatically stores PDFs in individual folders. To avoid having to individually open each of these folders, search for the extension .pdf while in your library's PDF folder.  You can also use a folder merger program.
  • If you've stored your PDFs yourself, make sure that they have the same title as the one assigned by EndNote, or make sure that EndNote is set to change the PDF name.

The PDFs will now be uploaded and automatically attached to the appropriate reference.

Mendeley Full Text Bulk Upload

To upload and attach full-text PDFs from Mendeley for your Covidence full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
From your review's homepage in Covidence, click on Export to go to the Export studies tool.

Export button

  1. Export your Full text reference list from Covidence to Mendeley.

Export from Full text review to your citation manager

         2. Download the file from the Recent exports section below your export menu.

Look for the Download link in the Recent Exports menu

         3. Import the file into Mendeley.

         4. Find the PDFs and attach them to the corresponding reference in your citation manager.  This can be done using the Mendeley Web Importer, attaching the PDFs manually, or by downloading the PDFs and dragging and dropping them into Mendeley.

         5. Once you have attached the articles to the citations in Mendeley, select all the articles and export the list of references from Mendeley in EndNote XML format.

Mendeley Export Option

 

Save as Endnote XML

          6. In the Covidence Full Text Review menu, click on the "Bulk upload PDFs" button.

​​Bulk Upload PDF button in Full Text menu

          7.  Organize your PDFs by saving them into one folder or by using the Organize My Files checkbox in the Options menu under Tools.

Use Organize My Files to put your Mendeley PDFs in one place

          8.  Click select file and upload the XML file. Once Covidence has processed the list of articles, it will create a table describing the upload.  On the right side of this table, drag and drop a group of PDFs or select the PDF files associated with your references from your computer.

Drag and drop menu for PDFs
 

The PDFs will now be uploaded and automatically attached to the appropriate reference.

Requesting an Article

If you use Icon for University of Wisconsin-Madison : Find It and are directed to a page signifying the item is not available, "Request A Copy" from another library via Interlibrary Loan. Log in with your NetID and password to request the article.

All the article citation information should be automatically filled within the form. Scroll down, verify your email address and click "Submit." When the request has been filled you will receive an email saying the article is ready to download. Follow the link in the email, log in with your NetID and password, and go to the Electronically Received Articles link to download/print/save your article PDF by selecting the appropriate Transaction number.  After 30 days the item will be automatically deleted.