Funding for Artists : Home

A guide to sourcing grants, awards, residencies, and other funding opportunities for artists

Art Reference and Instruction Librarian

Anna Simon

Email Me

Contact:

Kohler Art Library
160b Elvehjem Building
800 University Ave.

608-263-2257

Funding for Artists: Subscription Databases/Search Engines

It's important to note that there are a couple of main ways to seek funding: as an individual or as a non-profit. Most grants are given to organizations, not individuals. However, Individuals can broaden their funding options through a fiscal sponsorship -- in other words, legally entering into an arrangement with a 501(c)(3) that allows you to use their non-profit status.

Individual artists should look for funding through Pivot, a subscription database for funding available at UW-Madison, and Foundation Grants to Individuals, an open website run through the Foundation Center.

Nonprofits should consider the Foundation Directory Online and Pivot.

Please note that Foundation Directory Online and Foundation Grants to Individuals can only be used in the Grants Information Collection Center, Memorial Library, 2nd floor.

Both individuals and nonprofits are encouraged to use GrantSpace, the Foundation Center's learning community. GrantSpace provides easy-to-use tutorials and resources for navigating the funding universe.

COS Pivot

Offers several databases for approximately 25,000 private and federal funding sources. Grants in the non-science areas are included. (Note: You must set up a personal login account using your wisc.edu email - free to UW-Madison clientele - through the COS Workbench feature for some of the COS Pivot services, however, a login is not necessary to use the database.)
Need help?

Foundation Grants to Individuals

Funding includes educational support, general welfare, arts and cultural support, awards, prizes, and grants by nomination. You can only use this in Memorial Library at the Grants Information Center, 2nd floor.

Foundation Directory Online, Professional Edition

A web-based database from the Foundation Center, a foundation-supported clearinghouse of information on private funding sources. Provides information on over 140,000 independent and company-sponsored foundations, corporate givers, and grantmaking public charities. Foreign foundations and nonprofit organizations other than foundations are excluded. You can only use this in Memorial Library at the Grants Information Center, 2nd floor.
Need help?

Use the quick guide on the Foundation Directory Online.
Explore the taxonomy online (search, browse,definitions)
View the taxonomy hierarchy and some term definitions

GrantSpace

GrantSpace offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effectively.

Helpful Handouts

Funding for Artists: Snapshot on how artists can use the Grants Information Collection in Memorial Library

Selected Bibliography of Arts Funding Resources, courtesy Grants Information Collection in Memorial Library

Quick start guide on using Pivot

General Funding Help at UW-Madison

All funding guides via the Grants Information Collection (Memorial Library)
Grants Information Collection website
The GIC is the central location for grants information on campus. A grants librarian is on staff for assistance. The GIC is a Funding Information Network partner of the Foundation Center.