Wisconsin Agricultural History : Digital Collections

Links to "significant source materials bearing the history of Wisconsin agriculture and rural life through 1945." A project of the National Preservation Project for Agricultural Literature.

"Changing Landscapes of Wisconsin creates wide accessibility to a rare collection of historic aerial photographs acquired by the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) from 1937-1941. These photographs provide a snapshot of Wisconsin's landscapes seventy years ago, and have become a baseline dataset for understanding environmental, social, and economic changes that have occurred through that time."

From the Wisconsin Historical Society.
"The McCormick-International Harvester Company Collection contains documents, publications, photographs and films related to Cyrus Hall McCormick and the International Harvester Company. The collection includes more than 12 million pages or items dating from 1753 to 1985. These items document the history of the agricultural equipment industry, the McCormick family, and many other topics in fields as diverse as the history of advertising, technology, labor, business, rural life, philanthropy, architecture, Virginia and Chicago."

Expanding digital collection featuring historic photos, postcards, maps, letters, diaries, books, artifacts, oral histories and other digital collections from Wisconsin libraries, archives, museums and historical societies.

"The State of Wisconsin Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary materials: writings about the State of Wisconsin and unique or valuable materials that relate to its history and ongoing development."

"The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries."

"The History of Science and Technology Collection brings together in digital facsimile two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about scientific research at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and unique or valuable titles in science and technology held by the UW-Madison libraries."

"The history of the University of Wisconsin is far too colorful and texture-rich to be told in a single document. Within these collections you will find images, manuscripts, papers, and books, all relating in some way to the University's mission."

"Stories, essays, letters, poems, biographies, journals and tidbits from Wisconsin history."

"The field notes and plat maps of the public land survey of Wisconsin are a valuable resource for original land survey information, as well as for understanding Wisconsin's landscape history. The survey of Wisconsin was conducted between 1832 and 1866 by the federal General Land Office."

Offers full-text digital materials, primarily USDA research and historical publications. Browse curated collections or run search.

Curated highlights from the library’s general collection. Includes: "How did we can? The Evolution of Home Canning Practices"; "Small Agriculture" (small-scale farming); "George Washingon Carver" (significant publications), and more.