Basic Print Reference Resources for Russian Literary Studies : Home

Аванесов, Р. И. Русское литературное произношение. Москва : Просвещение, 1984. 6. изд.

Memorial Library Stacks. call number: PG2137 A9 1984

Большая энциклопедія. С-Петербургъ : Просвѣщеніе, 1900-. 20 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 B6

Большая советская энциклопедия. Москва : Советская энциклопедия, 1926-47.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 B6

Большая советская энциклопедия. Москва : Большая Советская энциклопедия, 1950-1958. 2. изд.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 B62

Большая советская энциклопедия. Москва : Большая Советская энциклопедия, 1970-1981. 3. изд.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 B623

Cornwell, Neil. Reference guide to Russian literature. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG2940 R43 1998

Cross, Anthony G. Eighteenth century Russian literature, culture and thought: a bibliography of English-language scholarship and translations. Newtonville MA : Oriental Research Partners, 1984.

Memorial Library Stacks. call number: Z2502 C76 1984

Даль, Владиміръ Ивановичъ. Толковый словарь живого великорусскаго языка. С.-Петербургъ : Изданіе Т-ва М. О. Вольфъ, 1912-14. 4 изд. -- 4 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2625 D3 1912

Энциклопедическій словарь.

Leipzig ; С-Петербургъ : Типо-Литографія И.А. Ефрона, 1890-1907. -- 82 vols. + 4 vols. suppl.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 E6

Энциклопедический словарь русского библиографического института Гранат. Москва : Гранат, 1910-1948. -- 58 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 E66

Foster, Ludmilla. Bibliography of Russian emigre literature, 1918-1968. Boston : G. K. Hall, 1970. -- 2 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: Z2510.3 F6

Фомин, Александр Григоревич. Путеводитель по библиографии, био-библиографии, историографии, хронологии и энциклопедии литературы; систематический, аннотированный указатель русских книг и журнальных работ, напечатанных в 1736-1932 гг. Ленинград : Гос. изд-во художественной литературы, Ленинградское отделение, 1934. [New York : Johnson Reprint Corp., 1966.]

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: Z2501 F67

Голубева, О. Д. Литературно-художественные альманахи и сборники : Библиографический указатель. Москва : Изд-во Всесоюзной книжной палаты, 1957-1960. -- 4 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: Z2504 C6 V7

Vol. 1. 1900-1911

Vol. 2. 1912-1917

Vol. 3. 1918-1927

Vol. 4. 1928-1937

Gribble, Charles E. A short dictionary of 18th-century Russian = Словарик русского языка 18-го века. Cambridge MA : Slavica, 1976.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2691 G72

Ignashev, Diane. Women and writing in Russia and the USSR; a bibliography of English language sources. New York : Garland, 1992.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG2997 N4 1992

История русской литературы. Москва : Изд-во Академии наук СССР, 1941-1956.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2950 A47

История русской литературы XVIII века : библиографический указатель. Ленинград : Изд-во Наука, 1968.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG3006 S76 1968

История русской литературы XIX века : библиографический указатель. Ленинград : Изд-во Академии наук СССР, 1962.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG3011 I573 1962

История русской литературы конца XIX – начала XX века : библиографический указатель. Ленинград : Изд-во Академии наук СССР, 1963.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG3011 I57 1963

Kasack, Wolfgang. Dictionary of Russian literature since 1917. New York : Columbia University Press, 1988.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG2991.4 K257 1988

English translation of Lexikon der russischen Literatur ab 1917.

Каталог русских книг библіотеки Императорскаго с.-петербургскаго университета. С-Петербургъ : Г. Шахт и ко., 1897-1902. -- 2 vols.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: Z939 L58 K3

Vol. 1. Acquisitions prior to Dec. 31, 1895

Vol. 2. Acquisitions between Jan. 1, 1986 and Dec. 31, 1901.

Кузнецов, Иван Васильевич. Газетный мир советского союза, 1917-1970. Москва : Изд-во Московского университита, 1972-1976. -- 2 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PN5274 K8

Vol. 1: Центральные газеты

Vol. 2: Республиканские, краевые, областные и окружные газеты.

Ledkovsky, Marina. Dictionary of Russian women writers. Westport CT : Greenwood, 1994.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2997 D53 1994

Levitt, Marcus C. Early modern Russian writers; late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Detroit MI : Gale Research Inc., 1995.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PS221 D5 v.150

Lewanski, Richard Casimir. Slavic literatures. New York : Ungar, 1967.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: Z7041 L59

Литература русского зарубежья возращается на родину : Выборочный указатель публикаций 1986-1990. Москва : Рудомино, 1993.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG3026 U5 L58 1993

Maichel, Karol. Guide to Russian reference books. Stanford CA : Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace, 1962-1967.

Petrovich Reading Room [and Reference]. call number: Z2491 M25

Малая советская энциклопедия. Москва : Большая Советская энциклопедия, 1928-31.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 M34 1928

Малая советская энциклопедия. Москва : Большая Советская энциклопедия, 1958-60.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: AE55 M34

Масанов, И. Ф. Словарь псевдонимов русских писателей, ученых и общественных деятелей. Москва : Изд-во Всесоюзной книжной палаты, 1956-1960. -- 4 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: Z1073 M3

Vol. 1-3: pseudonyms in alphabetical order.

Vol. 4: real names in alphabetical order

Mihailovich, Vasa D. Modern Slavic Literatures. New York : Ungar, 1972-1976. -- 2 vols.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG501 M518

Огрызко, Вячеслав В. Русские писатели, современная эпоха : лексикон : эскиз будущей энциклопедии. Москва : Литературная Россия, 2004.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2991.4 O475 2004

Périodiques slaves en caractère cyrilliques : état des collections en 1950. Paris : Bibliothèque nationale, 1956. -- 2 vols. + suppl. (1963).

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: Z6945 P24 [vol. 1-2 only]

Половцов, Александръ А. Русскій біографическій словаръ. С-Петербургъ : Типографія И. Н. Скороходова, 1896-1918. -- vol. 1-3, 3A, 4-20, 20A, 21-25.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: CT1203 R7

Project interrupted by Bolshevik revolution. In recent years a couple of volumes [3A and 20A] that were nearly complete in 1918 have belatedly been published.

Романова, Г. И. Русские писатели XX века : словарь-справочник. Москва : Изд-во Наука, 2003.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2991.4 R66 2003

Russian History and Culture : a microfiche collection of scarce books on 19th and early 20th century Russia from the Helsinki University Library. Ann Arbor MI : University Microfilms International, 1978.

Memorial Library. Memorial Microforms [ask at Circulation Desk]. call number: Micro Fiche 2371

Русский фольклор : библиографический указатель. Ленинград : БАН, 1961-1993. -- 8 vols. [covering period 1881-1985.]

Memorial Library stacks. call number: Z5984 R9 R8

Русские писатели 1800-1917; биографический словарь. Москва : Советская энциклопедия, 1989-

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2991.3 R77 1989

Русские писатели XIX век : биобиблиографический словарь. Москва : Просвещение, 1996. -- 2 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2991.3 R873 1996

Shipp, James F. Russian-English dictionary of abbreviations & initialisms. Philadelphia PA : Translation Research Institute, 1982.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG2693 S4 1982

Славянская мифология : энциклопедический словарь. Москва : Эллис Лак, 1995.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: BL930 S55 1995

Словарь русскаго языка. С.-Петербургъ : Тип. Императорской Академіи Наукъ, 1895-

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2625 A5

Словарь современного русского литературного языка. Москва: Изд-во Академии наук СССР, 1950-65. -- 17 vols.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2625 A533

Советский роман, его теория и история : Библиографический указатель, 1917-1964. Ленинград : БАН СССР, 1966.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: Z2504 F5 A52

Советское литературоведение и критика : русская советская литература (общие работы) : книги и статьи 1917-1975 годов : библиографический указатель. Москва : Изд-во Наука, 1966.

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG3016 F86 1966

Stevanovic, Bosiljka, and Vladimir Wertsman. Free Voices in Russian literature, 1950s-1980s : A Bio-bibliographical Guide. New York : Russica, 1987.

Petrovich Reading Room [and Reference]. call number: PG3026 U5 S73 1987

Terras, Victor. Handbook of Russian literature. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1985.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG2940 H29 1985

Vasmer, M. Russisches etymologisches Worterbuch. Heidelberg : Carl Winter, 1953-58. Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2580 V3

Vasmer, Max. Russisches geographisches Namenbuch. Wiesbaden : Harrassowitz, 1964-1989. -- 11 vols. + map volume

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: DK14 V3 1962

Витман, А. М. и др. Восемь лет художественной литературы (1917-25). Letchworth, England : Bradda Books, Ltd., 1972. [Reprint. Original edition: Москва : Государственное изд-во, 1926.]

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG3016 V5 1972

Weber, Harry. The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet literature. Gulf Breeze FL : Academic International, 1977-

Petrovich Reading Room. call number: PG2940 M6

Woll, Josephine. Soviet dissident literature: A critical guide. Boston MA : G. K. Hall, 1983.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: PG3026 V5 W64 1983

Wytrzens, Gunther. Bibliographische Einführung in das Studium der Slawichen Literaturen. Frankfurt am Main : Klostermann, 1972.

Memorial Library Reference Collection. call number: Z7041 W9

Wytrzens, Gunther. Bibliographie der literarwissenschaftlichen Slavistik, 1970-1980. Frankfurt am Main : Klostermann, 1982.

Memorial Library Stacks. call number: PG501 W89 1982