Selected Resources for Russell Lab's Graduate Students, Faculty and Staff : Find Research Articles & Data
BrowZine, App or Desktop
Use BrowZine to discover, curate, read, and monitor the contents of scholarly journals using mobile device or desktop.
- Mobile Device: Download the app to your iPad, iPhone, or Android device. The application is available from the App Store (Apple), Google Play, or Amazon (Android). When you open BrowZine for the first time, you will see a list of schools. Select UW-Madison, then enter your NetID and password.
- Web (desktop)
Log in to customize a bookshelf of journals in your subject areas of interest.
In addition to intentionally visiting BrowZine to browse selected journals, an email notification can be enabled to alert you to journals with new articles available (in a volume or issue). Visit your settings to enable email notifications to deliver daily or weekly (weekly is the default setting).
Searching the Research Literature
As a student and researcher at UW-Madison, you have access to a true wealth of information! We subscribe to thousands of journals, hundreds of databases, and maintain a vast print collection. This page provides suggestions for finding (and retrieving) articles from journals within your discipline. Do not be stopped by paywalls! If you are unable to find the article in our collections, we can almost always obtain a copy through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Please contact us if you need assistance. We can help you to construct efficient searches, set alerts, retrieve full text of articles and identify journals in which to publish. AskSEL@library.wisc.edu
Selecting and Searching Databases by Subject or Type
You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases.
There are several ways to browse and to select databases:
1) Search by the title of the database (for example, "Cab Abstracts").
2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that find literature on your research topic.
3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to quickly access a selection of popularly-used databases.
-
Agricultural and Environmental ScienceCross-disciplinary database of full-text content along with indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines.
-
Agris (FAO, Agriculture, United Nations)International database of 2.6 million+ references to world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology. Includes gray literature not often available through other publication and distribution channels.
-
Alliance of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Societies Digital Library: ACSESS DLJournal and e-book content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America.
-
Biological AbstractsLarge article database covering all aspects of biology including bacteriology, cell biology, genetics, microbiology, pathology, physiology, toxicology, virology, zoology, and more.
-
BioOneCritical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
-
CAB AbstractsComprehensive database of the applied life sciences including animal and crop production, environmental impacts, horticulture, nutrition, plant breeding, plant pathology, soil science, and veterinary science.
-
Google ScholarMulti-disciplinary search engine to scholarly articles.
Note: Accessing Google Scholar through our libraries will help you to bypass paywalls (i.e retrieve more full-text through our subscriptions). -
GreenFILEAccess to scholarly, government, and general-interest sources addressing environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments.Topics covered include climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
TreeSearchResearch publications from the US Forest Service.
-
Web of ScienceCollection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
-
Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideSearchable access to journal articles (plus government reports, book chapters, field studies and surveys) treating such topics as individual species, habitats, wildlife behavior, management, ecotourism, etc.
Getting to the Full Article
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access the full article (when available)
- determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)
If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.
Digital Collections, Data, Imagery
-
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryComprehensive digital collection of legacy literature of biodiversity (botanical and natural histories).
-
Invasive Species CompendiumInvasive species, including all taxa, with the exception of pathogens of humans. Developed in partnership with the USDA and global team of collaborators. Supports research and decision-making for academia, practitioners, government and agricultural researchers.
-
Plant Humanities Initiative, Plant Humanities LabExplore cultural histories of plants, influences and uses by human societies.
-
PLANTS DatabaseProvides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.