- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Art
- Islamic Art and Architecture
- Start here! Encyclopedias & Books
Islamic Art and Architecture : Start here! Encyclopedias & Books
Guide to art historical resources for the Middle East and Islamic art & architecture
Catalogs
- UW Library Catalog Search for books, movies, encyclopedias, music and more throughout the UW System.
- Worldcat (FirstSearch) An advanced search that combines catalogs from academic, special, and public libraries.
Islamic Art/Architecture Encyclopedias
Search the Library Catalog for: Islamic encyclopedia to locate many other reference sources
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Call Number: Art Library Reference N6260 G75 2009
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture
The Dictionary of Islamic Architectureprovides the fullest range of artistic, technical, archaeological, cultural and biographical data for the entire geographical and chronological spread of Islamic architecture - from West Africa through the Middle East to Indonesia, and from the seventh to the eighteenth centuries of the Common Era. Over 500 entries are arranged alphabetically and fully cross-referenced and indexed to permit easy access to the text and to link items of related interest. Four main categories of subject matter are explored: * dynasticand regional overviews * individual site descriptions * biographical entries * technical definitions Over 100 relevant plans, sketch maps, photographs and other illustrations complement and illuminate the entries, and the needs of the reader requiring further information are met by individual entry bibliographies.
Call Number: Online
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
This unique reference is a comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Emphasis on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Call Number: Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South (No loan) DS35.53 O96 2009
Modern Art of the Middle East: Select Online Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Beautiful Agitation by
In modern Syria, a contested territory at the intersection of differing regimes of political representation, artists ventured to develop strikingly new kinds of painting to link their images to life forces and agitated energies. Examining the works of artists Kahlil Gibran, Adham Ismail, and Fateh al-Moudarres, Beautiful Agitation explores how painters in Syria activated the mutability of form to rethink relationships of figure to ground, outward appearance to inner presence, and self to world. Drawing on archival materials in Syria and beyond, Anneka Lenssen reveals new trajectories of painterly practice in a twentieth century defined by shifting media technologies, moving populations, and the imposition of violently enforced nation-state borders. The result is a study of Arab modernism that foregrounds rather than occludes efforts to agitate against imposed identities and intersubjective relations.
Call Number: Art Reserves ND989.6 .L46 2020
Making Modernity in the Islamic Mediterranean by
The Islamic world's artistic traditions experienced profound transformation in the 19th century as rapidly developing technologies and globalizing markets ushered in drastic changes in technique, style, and content. Despite the importance and ingenuity of these developments, the 19th century remains a gap in the history of Islamic art. To fill this opening in art historical scholarship, Making Modernity in the Islamic Mediterraneancharts transformations in image-making, architecture, and craft production in the Islamic world from Fez to Istanbul. Contributors focus on the shifting methods of production, reproduction, circulation, and exchange artists faced as they worked in fields such as photography, weaving, design, metalwork, ceramics, and even transportation. Covering a range of media and a wide geographical spread, Making Modernity in the Islamic Mediterraneanreveals how 19th-century artists in the Middle East and North Africa reckoned with new tools, materials, and tastes from local perspectives.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2022-04-19
Modern Arab Art by
"Groundbreaking. Shabout elucidates two critical issues that have thus far received inadequate scholarly attention--the distinction between Islamic Art and Arab Art and the relatedness of the political and artistic processes in the history of Arab modernity."--Shiva Balaghi, coeditor of Picturing Iran: Art, Society and Revolution "One of the first publications to consider the various cultural and social conditions that have helped shape Modern Arab Art as a recent phenomenon linked to the rise of Arab identity, the impact of western art training, and a search for a contemporary language which links with Islamic art but is discontinuous with it."--Fran Lloyd, Kingston University "Art is one way to visualize the interconnectedness of people and this book shows us how related in influence and aspirations we all are."--Linnea S. Hedrick, Miami University Modern Arab Art provides a historical and theoretical overview of the subject from the 1940s through today. With particular emphasis on production, reception, and the intersection between art and politics in Iraq and Palestine, Nada Shabout reveals the fallacy in Western fascination with Arab art as a timeless and exotic "other."
Call Number: Art Reserves N7265.3 S53 2007
Modern Art in the Arab World by
Modern Art in the Arab World: Primary Documents offers an unprecedented resource for the study of modernism: a compendium of critical art writings by twentieth-century Arab intellectuals and artists. The selection of texts--many of which appear here for the first time in English--includes manifestos, essays, transcripts of roundtable discussions, diary entries, exhibition guest-book comments, letters, and more. Traversing empires and nation-states, diasporas and speculative cultural and political federations, these documents bring light to the formation of a global modernism, through debates on originality, public space, spiritualism and art, postcolonial exhibition politics, and Arab nationalism, among many other topics. The collection is framed chronologically, and includes contextualizing commentaries to assist readers in navigating its broad geographic and historical scope. Interspersed throughout the volume are sixteen contemporary essays: writings by scholars on key terms and events as well as personal reflections by modern artists who were themselves active in the histories under consideration. A newly commissioned essay by historian and Arab-studies scholar Ussama Makdisi provides a historical overview of the region's intertwined political and cultural developments during the twentieth century. Modern Art in the Arab World is an essential addition to the investigation of modernism and its global manifestations. Publication of the Museum of Modern Art Distributed by Duke University Press
Call Number: Art Reserves N7265.3 .M63 2018
Modernism on the Nile by
Analyzing the modernist art movement that arose in Cairo and Alexandria from the late nineteenth century through the 1960s, Alex Dika Seggerman reveals how the visual arts were part of a multifaceted transnational modernism. While the work of diverse, major Egyptian artists during this era may have appeared to be secular, she argues, it reflected the subtle but essential inflection of Islam, as a faith, history, and lived experience, in the overarching development of Middle Eastern modernity. Challenging typical views of modernism in art history as solely Euro-American, and expanding the conventional periodization of Islamic art history, Seggerman theorizes a "constellational modernism" for the emerging field of global modernism. Rather than seeing modernism in a generalized, hyperconnected network, she finds that art and artists circulated in distinct constellations that encompassed finite local and transnational relations. Such constellations, which could engage visual systems both along and beyond the Nile, from Los Angeles to Delhi, were materialized in visual culture that ranged from oil paintings and sculpture to photography and prints. Based on extensive research in Egypt, Europe, and the United States, this richly illustrated book poses a compelling argument for the importance of Muslim networks to global modernism.
Call Number: Art Reserves N7381.7 .S44 2019
The Modern Middle East by
Extensively revised and updated in this fifth edition, The Modern Middle East explores how the forces associated with global modernity have shaped the social, economic, cultural, and political life in the region over the course of the past 500 years. Beginning with the first glimmerings of the current international state and economic systems in the sixteenth century, this book examines the impact of imperial and imperialist legacies, the great nineteenth-century transformation, cultural continuities and upheavals, international diplomacy, economic booms and busts, and the emergence of authoritarian regimes and the varied forms of resistance to them and to imperialism in an area of vital concern to us all. The text is engagingly written--drawing from the author's own research and other studies--and enriched with maps and photographs, original documents, and an abundance of supplementary materials.
Call Number: College Reserves DS62.4 .G37 2020
Looking at the World Around You by
-Features 160 works selected from the collections of the Qatar Museums -Illustrates the Arab world's presence on the international art scene The catalogue of the exhibition Looking at the World Around You: Contemporary Works from Qatar Museums features 160 selected works from the collections of Qatar Museums. It is a celebration of modern and contemporary art that attempts to illustrate the Arab world's perspective on the international art scene. Abdellah Karroum, Director of Mathaf and curator of the exhibition in Madrid, considers Looking at the World Around You an invitation to connect with multiple layers of history, mythology and representation, and to reflect on the role of art and the artist through a reading and display of works from Qatar Museums extending from Francisco de Goya's ca. 1825 tiny ivory painting, which inspired his exhibition's curatorial concept, to Wael Shawky's expansive cinematic re-imaginings of the past, completed in 2015. Other artists such as Rene Magritte, Fahrelnissa Zeid, Saloua Raouda Choucair, Inji Efflatoun, Etel Adnan, Adam Henein, Chaibia Talal, Ahmed Morsi, Baya Mahieddine, Farid Belkahia, Ismail Fattah, Marwan Kassab Bachi, Nja Mahdaoui, Dia Azzawi, Abdullah Al Muharraqi, Jassim Zaini, Sami Mohammad, Chant Avedissian, Hassan Sharif, Mona Hatoum, Wafika Sultan Saif Al-Essa, Yousef Ahmad, Faraj Daham, Cai Guo-Qiang, Ali Hassan, Shirin Neshat, Hassan bin Mohammed bin Ali Al Thani, Yan Pei-Ming, Ghada Amer, Mounir Fatmi, Youssef Nabil, Manal AlDowayan, and Amal Kenawy are also included in the exhibition and catalogue. The exhibition runs from February to June 2016. Text in English, Spanish, Arabic.
Call Number: Oversize N6490 .L66 2016
Select Online Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Select Resources
- ArchnetArchnet is an open access, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History--The Birth of IslamA collection of primary and secondary essays that includes an overview of Islamic art and a timeline to help students visualize the chronology of the period.
- Patterns in Islamic ArtArchive of over 4000 images of patterns and other design features drawn from the rich cultural heritage of the Islamic world.
