HISTSCI 211: History of Modern China in Scientific Objects (Fall 2025) : Digital Primary Resources in Chinese

Digital Primary Sources in Chinese

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 1911-1949 (民国时期期刊全文数据库)  (NetID required)​​​​​​

• 20,000+ journals in the Republic of China
• Series F (Literature, History, Philosophy) and J (Economics, Management): 1906 to present
   

點石齋畫報 1884-1898 

• Digitized illustrated supplement of Shen Bao newspaper, published in Shanghai
• Made publicly available by Yale University Library.

Shen Bao 1872-1949 (申報) (NetID required)

• Longest-lasting and most influential newspaper in modern China

Ta Kong Pao 1902-1949 (大公報)  (NetID required)

• One of China’s longest-running newspapers founded in 1902

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers 1912-1949 (NetID required)​​​​​​

• Center for Research Libraries (CRL) newspaper collection covers 1912–1949

Databases on the History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements (中國當代政治運動史數據庫) (NetID required)

• Digital resource of primary sources on major political movements in modern Chinese history, including the Cultural Revolution, Anti-Rightist Campaign, Great Leap Forward–Great Famine, and 1950s campaigns
• Comprises 4 databases: Cultural Revolution, Anti-Rightist Campaign (1957–), Great Leap Forward–Great Famine (1958–1962), and Early–Mid 1950s Political Movements (1949–1956).

Chinese Pamphlets 1947-1954 (連環畫) 

• Digitized collection of mass education materials from Hong Kong and mainland China, especially Shanghai
• Covers the period 1947–1954

NCL Taiwan Periodical Literature 國家圖書館期刊文獻資訊網 Periopath 

• This is open access from the National Central Library index to academic journal articles published in Taiwan.
• It is also known as Periopath.