Your Librarians
Here you will find a list of the CeO librarians. We are here to help you conduct research and use the libraries for all your needs.Please reach out whenever you have questions.
Science & Engineering Libraries (SEL)
I am happy to schedule consultations!
Welcome!
Welcome to the CeO Library and Research Page!
Please feel free to look around, try out our suggested databases, ask questions and take part.
Photo by Vladislav Klapin on Unsplash
Go-To Library Resources
The UW-Madison Libraries can be overwhelming. Here are some go-to resources to help you with your research. They can all be found on the UW-Madison Libraries website: library.wisc.edu
-
DatabasesFind databases with articles on your topic by browsing different subject areas.
-
Reservable Study RoomsReserve a study room in many library locations.
-
Laptop CheckoutLaptops and more can be checked out from the Libraries. Most loan periods are 3 days or 1 week, but loan periods on equipment can vary, especially for reserve equipment. Please call the location you intend to borrow equipment from for more information.
-
Library CatalogFind books, e-books, movies, music, and more here.
-
Library Locations & HoursFind the library that works for you. Use the filters on the right of the page to find computer labs, reflection spaces, and more.
-
Library Research TutorialsMany tutorials for help on conducting research, accessing library resources, and using library services.
-
Printing & PhotocopiesInformation about printing, including color and poster printing.
-
Subject GuidesBrowse guides on many subjects to help you find resources on your topic. Look through the Undergraduate Research Guides for more help.
Featured Database
-
PubMed/MedlineDeveloped by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free access to thousands of scholarly articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, health care systems, and more.
Previous Featured Databases
-
Cambridge Companions OnlineEbook guides to writers, composers, philosophers, genres, and literary fields with context and analysis.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextTopic overviews, viewpoint articles, statistics, primary documents, and full text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues. (1990 - present)
-
Oxford Reference OnlineCross-searchable collection of dictionaries, encyclopedia, and reference books across all subjects, including the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and bilingual dictionaries.
-
US NewsstreamProvides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
-
Web of ScienceCollection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
Check Your Sources!
Websites, social media, or AI chatbots do not always provide reliable information. Be sure to locate, read, and evaluate the original source of the information for accuracy and credibility. Below are some tips for locating and evaluating sources no matter where you find your information:
Lateral Reading
Digital literacy expert Michal Caulfield developed a method called SIFT (Stop, Investigate the source, Find better coverage, Trace claims, quotes, and media to their original context) to consume information critically.
-
The SIFT MethodIntroduction to the SIFT method, a version of lateral reading, which requires leaving the original text to investigate claims across other sources. When using AI chatbots, it is necessary to use lateral reading to fact check the output.