Last Updated: Apr 4, 2013
- International Encyclopedia of Dance (UW-Licensed)
Contains almost 2,000 articles and covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Each entry contains an extensive bibliography. An excellent place to begin your dance research.
- Dance in Video (UW-Licensed)
Contains hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by 20th century performers and companies. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
- Oxford Music Online (UW-Licensed)
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Extensive encyclopedia articles and bibliographies by expert scholars.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (UW-Licensed)
Extensive encyclopedia articles entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Includes bibliographies, audio examples, and images.
- African American Music Reference (UW-Licensed)
Contains encyclopedia entries, audio examples, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies. Covered genres include blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
This research guide focuses on Dance. It includes print, multimedia, and online resources owned by libraries - especially the Mills Music Library - and free on the Web. This research guide is not a comprehensive portal, but it is intended to be a useful place to start.
If you need/want further research help, please contact us at the Mills Music Library (see profile box on the right)! We are always happy to help!
You can find books on dance in the UW-Madison Library Catalog.
Sample keyword searches:
- Modern dance
- Dance technique
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
The Oxford dictionary of dance
Call Number: GV1585 C73 2000 Memorial Library Reference Stacks
Offers a wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, important films, and organizations involved in the dance world.
International Encyclopedia of Dance: A Project of Dance Perspectives
Call Number: GV1585 I586 1998 Memorial Library Reference Stacks, 2 South (non-circulating)
Just like the online version, this 6 volume work contains almost 2,000 articles and covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Each entry contains an extensive bibliography. An excellent place to begin your dance research.
International dictionary of modern dance
Call Number: GV1585 I58 1998 Memorial Library Reference Stacks, 2 South
A single volume resource that contains 425 entries on artists, works, companies, periods, performances and schools of modern dance from its origins in the late 19th century to the present day. Also contains an overview essay, a timeline, over 200 illustrations, and a general bibliography.