On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases with full text of US and international newspapers. Generally, content in these databases is from the last 15-20 years.
Also on this page are links to free Web sites for aggregated news sources and major dailies.
In addition, there is information about where and how to find newspapers in print.
To search for newspaper titles in the libraries' collections, use Find It or the Library Catalog box on this page.
Current Newspaper Sites
Free Web sites for aggregated news sources and single newspapers.
About this Guide
This guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
It also includes sources of information useful for identifying, finding, and searching newspapers, such as: newspapers at other institutions; newspaper directories; and newspaper indexes.
Assistance in locating newspapers is available from staff in campus libraries.
Current Newspaper Databases
Below is a list of databases for finding current newspaper content. Search these databases by keywords to find specific articles. Generally, content in these databases was published in the past 15-20 years to date. Pictures, advertisements, and special sections are often not included. Click on the i to access a title or source list.
Current Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in the Library Catalog.
Ask a Librarian
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.