Getting Full Text
Follow the
button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (MadCat)
- request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Request a Copy/Library Express)
If you already have a citation, use this do-it-yourself
form to search for your article.
- How to Find a Specific Article
This video will walk you through the process of finding a specific article. Or, if you prefer, try this tipsheet
Comments (0)
Manage your References
- RefWorks
RefWorks is web-based software for managing your citations. It is free to all faculty, staff and students at UW-Madison. - EndNote
EndNote is desktop citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication. - Zotero
Zotero is a free Firefox plug-in that allows you to save citations, documents and copies of web pages. It's easy to learn, but not robust enough to support writing large documents. - Compare RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero

Quicksearch for Articles
Business/Retailing/Economics
- ABI Inform
* Covers business trade magazines and scholarly journals.
* Quick Guide - OneSource Global Business Browser
* Includes detailed company profiles and related industry trends and issues. - Business & Industry
* Covers leading trade and business publications. - Econlit
* Leading scholarly index for economics literature.
* Quickguide - more...
Consumer Behavior / Marketing
- ABI/Inform
* Covers business trade magazines and scholarly journals
* Quick Guide - PsycINFO

- Mintel Reports
* Covers US & UK consumers intelligence reports which analyze market sizes and trends, market segmentation, as well as consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. - more...
Education
- ERIC
* Oldest and largest education-related database. It covers journal articles and ERIC Documents.
* Quick Guide - Education Full-text
* Covers education literature at all levels.
* Quickguide - more...
Health/Medical
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
* Covers consumer health including nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more.
* Quickguide - CINAHL
* Covers nursing and allied health literature.
* Quickguide - MEDLINE
* Premiere medical literature database covering all aspects of medicine and health care.
* Quick Guide - more...
Law
- Index to Legal Periodicals
* Covers all areas of law from the United States and Commonwealth countries and indexes legal periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more.
* Quickguide - LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe
* Composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text.
* Quick Guide - more...
Newspapers and Popular Magazines
Public Policy
- PAIS International
* Covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
* Quick Guide - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
* Covers political science and related fields including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
* Quick Guide - National Journal Group's Policy Central
* Advertised as "the academic community's policy source", Policy Central offers several databases covering various aspects of U.S. government, public policy, and business. - More Public Policy Article Databases
Social Sciences
- SocINDEX
Covers all sub-disciplines of sociology including demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory and more. - Sociological Abstracts
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Librarian Profile |
Contact Info 117 Steenbock Library jruenger@library.wisc.edu (608) 263-6048 IM: JeanRHatSteen |


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)


Loading...
