- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Consumer Science
- Statistics & Data
Consumer Science : Statistics & Data
Demographic and Census Data
- American Fact Finder"… provide[s] users with the capability to browse, search, and map data from many US Census Bureau sources." Also provides access to the full text of may census bureau reports (click "Census Bureau Products").
- Quick Facts from the U.S. CensusAnswers to common questions asked of the U.S. Census Bureau concerning people, business and geography at the county, state and national level.
- United States Historical Census BrowserBrowse data about "the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970."
- US Census Bureau Housing TopicsData on homeownership, housing vacancies and affordability, a survey of property owners and managers, a survey of market absorption of apartments, historical trends and more.
- Community Information by Zip CodeIncludes links to information by zip code on people and households, education, health, the environment, business, and politics. Created by a librarian at California State University Northridge.
- Madison and Dane County Business InformationFrom the UW Madison Business Library.
- Population and Demography InformationA gateway to a wide range of population and demography information on the Web from the Population Research Institute at Pennsylvania State University.
General Statistics Sources
- Fedstats" More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use."
Dates Vary (updated continually) - NationMaster.comStatistics from a variety of well cited government sources and presented in an easy-to-use and interesting graphical format. Includes an encyclopedia, statistics, maps and country information.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States" A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations."
1995 - to date (updated annually) - Statistical Resources on the Web: SociologyCompiled by the University of Michigan Documents Center
Economic Indicators
- Bureau of Labor Statistics – Consumer Price IndexThe Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.
- Economics Statistics Briefing RoomFederal statistics on production, employment, income, trade, money, and prices.
- Social Statistics Briefing RoomData on crime, demographics, education and health.
- SourceOECDOrganisation for Economic Co-operation collection of books, periodicals and statistical databases.1998- (updated daily)
Financial Institutions
- Historical Statistics on BankingAggregate statistical information on the banking industry beginning in 1934 collected by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
- Statistics on Depository InstitutionsTwenty-four predefined financial information reports plus a feature for building custom reports on FDIC-insured institutions.
Retail and Marketing
- ClickZ StatsTrends and statistics on Web marketing with up-to-date news briefs on many subjects, as well as archived articles.
- QuickStats (Shopping Mall Statistics)From the International Council of Shopping Centers
Data Resources
Applied Population Laboratory
Provides consultation and training as well as researching current demographic and economic topics.
WisStat
Online demographic data server for Wisconsin.
Applied Population Laboratory
Provides consultation and training as well as researching current demographic and economic topics.
WisStat
Online demographic data server for Wisconsin.
Data and Program Library Service
Central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the UW-Madison.
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data
Over 700 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
iPOLL Databank
Full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935 from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
DPLS Online Data Archive
Small subset of the DPLS data collection made publicly available for direct web download.
DPLS Catalog
Center for Demography and Ecology Library
Specialized collection in population studies with emphasis on particular areas in accordance with the priorities and research interests of Center faculty and staff.
CDECAT
To locate data files available at CDE.
Data Resources at CDE Information Services
Detailed descriptions of data available at CDE.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Provides access to an immense archive of social science data for research and instruction. Housed at the University of Michigan.
Data on the Net
Numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.