This is the "Overview" page of the "Bioethics: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bioethics: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: May 13, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/bioethics Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on sources dealing with life-and-death decisions for which there are not yet ethical codes or public consensus. Example issues include organ transplants, organ donation, euthanasia, human experimentation and genetic engineering. 

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • American Journal of Bioethics  
    Rating
    This site includes numerous links to news articles and internet sites pertaining to various ethical issues in the medical and biological sciences. It also includes a searchable index of article abstracts from the American Journal of Bioethics.
  • Bioethics Resources on the Web  
    Rating
    This site is produced by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It contains a list of internet resources exploring various positions on issues in bioethics.
  • BioethicsWeb  
    Rating
    This site is "a gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Ethics and Health (ETH), World Health Organization (WHO)  
    Rating
    This site, created by The World Health Organization (WHO), the United Nations' specialized agency for health, explores issues in bioethics from an international perspective.
  • Ethics Updates  
    Rating
    This is a site maintained by an ethics professor at University of San Diego to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional, relating to ethics.
  • Kennedy Institute of Ethics: Library & Information Services  
    Rating
    This site presents resources available for bioethics research at Georgetown University's Kennedy Institute of Ethics.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • The President's Council on Bioethics  
    Rating
    President George W. Bush established the Council on Bioethics in November 2001, to investigate issues relating to human bioethics. This site includes information about the council and transcripts from the council meetings.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip