Research Guides: Bioethics: Databases

Possible Search Terms

Just as there are many topics within the fields of bioethics, there are many terms to use in searching. Depending upon the topic and database, here are some sample terms:

Informed consent
Bioethics
Medical ethics
Code of ethics
Clinical ethics
Advance care planning
Advance directives
Ethical review
Cloning
Gene therapy
Animal testing
Animal rights
Organ transplant
Genetic engineering
Human experimentation
Assisted suicide
Euthanasia
End-of-life
Confidentiality
Professionalism
Public health
Spirituality
Truth-telling
Patient rights

Databases

There are many databases to use for bioethics, but the best one(s) depend upon the topic.
Some topics will span several fields and subject areas.

Here are a few to get started.

For even more databases, go to the UW-Madison's Database Library to find others by subject.

PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
Web of Science The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts.
PsycINFO This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
SocINDEX SocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for 397 "core coverage" sociology journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority coverage" journals. It also includes full text for more than 720 books and 6,743 conference papers. The database encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study.
Academic Search Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Philosopher's Index Subject coverage includes aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and the philosophy of related disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni (formerly named LexisNexis Academic Universe) is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text.

Library Research Guides - University of Wisconsin Ebling Library

Bioethics : Databases

Possible Search Terms

Databases