- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- HORT 376: Tropical Horticultural Systems (Fall 2020)
- Research Articles and Data
HORT 376: Tropical Horticultural Systems (Fall 2020) : Research Articles and Data
Selecting and Searching Databases by Subject or Type
You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases.
There are several ways to browse and to select databases:
1) Search by the title of the database (for example, 'EconLit').
2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic.
3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to quickly access a selection of popularly-used databases.
Note: Additionally, an "Articles Search" can be run from the library home page. The Articles Search runs a search within several databases simultaneously. Filters by date, source, document type (and more) can be applied to the retrieval. There is also an Advanced interface.
Consider the databases listed, below, for conducting your search of the research literature.
Getting to Full Text
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article (PDF) if full text is not available online (Request a Copy link)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.
Searching Tips for Online Databases
- Use AND to combine search terms; retrieve records with those terms, in any order: friends AND communication
- Use OR to combine similar search terms or synonyms: friends OR peers
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search a required phrase: "interpersonal communication"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to retrieve singular and plural forms or suffixes for search terns: friend* = friend, friends, friendly or friendship
- Review "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms.
- Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, or other).