Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

HISTORY 600: America and China (Fall 2020) : Secondary Sources

Background source

Encyclopedia of Modern China, 1800 - present

  • Claims it "covers all aspects of the history and culture of China since 1800, including the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature."
  • Contains nearly 1000 articles, from 500 international scholars.
  • Provides introductions to a variety of events, people, and topics.

Searching databases & finding the full text of articles

This library research tutorial on Searching Within Databases explains not only how to search databases, but how to find links to the full text of articles.

About "databases," the containers for many primary sources

We recommend searching library "databases" to identify secondary sources Think of library databases as containers, or streaming channels, for descriptions of and links to articles.  Some articles will be described and linked to from one database; some will be described and linked to from many databases.

 

Accessing databases

Many of these databases are ones that the UW-Madison Libraries pay a subscription fee to have access to (like a streaming service).  To access these databases, you have to use a link from a UW-Madison Libraries page, like the Libraries home page, or a course guide like this one.  When you click a link to access a database, you may be asked to log in with your UW-Madison netID and password.

Selected article databases

Historical Abstracts, 1450-present

  • Indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (See America: History and Life for U.S. and Canadian coverage.)
  • Links to full-text articles included when available.
  • Covers articles covering the years 1450 to the present, including approximately 1700 periodicals published in 90 countries in 40 languages.
  • Collections of essays, conference papers, dissertations, and books also included.

 

Bibliography of Asian Studies Online

  • Lists journal articles about Asia in Western language journals and books. Citations to books were discontinued in 1992.

 

America History and Life

  • Indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American coverage.)
  • Links to full-text articles are included when available.
  • Books and dissertations are indexed also.

 

JSTOR

  • Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
  • Journal coverage begins with volume 1 of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. 
  • Can limit search to a specific subject area in the "Advanced Search."
  1. Click "advanced search" under the "search JSTOR" box.
  2. Type keywords in the "keywords" boxes.
  3. Optional: select/fill in other search limit boxes.
  4. Scroll down page to "Journal Filter" section.
  5. Click box(es) next to the discipline(s)/subject areas you want to search.
  6. Press <enter> on your keyboard, or click "submit advanced search."

 

Century Journals Project (中国知网世纪期刊) for 1906-1993

  • The Century Journals Project is the single largest retrospective digital collection of 20th Century Chinese Journals More than 3,500 full-text Chinese Journals between 1906-1993. Please select "世纪期刊" on the front page.
  • It provides English and Chinese versions. 

 

China Academic Journals (中国知网中国期刊全文数据库) for 1994-present

  • It is the largest academic journal full-text database in the world. It collects over 7000 academic journals published in China.

 

Dissertations of China (DOC 万方)

  • It contains over 1 million Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations and theses from major Chinese research institutions, the majority of which are available in full-text. Topics covered include humanities and social sciences. Other areas including medicine, agriculture, fundamental science, and science and technology are NOT included in this subscription at this time.

 

National Social Sciences Database (国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库) 

  • It contains over one million Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations and theses from major Chinese research institutions, the majority of which are available in full-text. Topics covered include humanities and social sciences. Other areas including medicine, agriculture, fundamental science, and science and technology are NOT included in this subscription at this time.

 

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Librarian

Profile Photo
Anlin Yang
Contact:
412E Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison
728 State St.
Madison, WI 53706
Subjects: East Asia

Librarian

Profile Photo
Beth Harper
Contact:
Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Government Information Specialist